Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Noob questions about memory, LCDs, XBees, and other stuff  (Read 815 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi everyone.

If it wasn't already apparent, I'm an Arduino noob. Hopefully I don't look too stupid.  smiley-sweat

So, my questions...first, I want to know how feasible using a color LCD is due to memory constraints. I just looked at the ladyada tutorials for character and 128x64 monochrome screens, and it said that a 128x64 screen would use a lot of memory (about half I think). That made me think...how can we use a 128x128 color screen while having enough memory left to do anything? Does it have built in memory or something? My project involves several other parts including some way to output audio (haven't figured that out yet either) and an XBee radio. In short, I'm worried about running out of memory.

If somehow it is feasible, can anyone point me to how to use them? The code examples I got off sparkfun...well I didn't know how to use them and I don't think they were meant for Arduinos anyway (judging by the comments).

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2011, 09:33:16 pm by Fej42 » Logged

Global Moderator
Brattain Member
View Profile

What about this one?

http://www.adafruit.com/blog/2011/02/15/new-product-2-8-16-bit-color-tft-lcd-with-touchscreen-breakout-board/

That has 240×320 pixels. The example sketch (a simple paint program) used:

Code:
Binary sketch size: 9584 bytes (of a 32256 byte maximum)

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

My project involves several other parts including some way to output audio (haven't figured that out yet either) and an XBee radio.
One XBee radio, huh? Have you a clue what XBee radios are?