Go Down

Topic: Mapping PB6 and PB7 (Xtal pins) on a bare ATmega328 (Read 3557 times) previous topic - next topic

hoedus

Hi everybody,
I'm new to Arduino and I have a question about pin mapping.
I read the examples of this page (http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard) to make the minimal circuit with the internal oscillator (I wanted as few parts as possible and a good oscillator was not at all mandatory). I thought I could use the Xtal pins as I/O pins, but don't know how to map them in Arduino.
Can anybody help me with that?
I wanted to use them, because that made the layout of my PCB much easier... Now I'm not sure it was a really good idea.
Thanks for the help!

PaulS

I thought I could use the Xtal pins as I/O pins

What made you think that?

I wanted to use them, because that made the layout of my PCB much easier

Of course, you tested this on a breadboard first, right?

Now I'm not sure it was a really good idea.

I wonder why...
The art of getting good answers lies in asking good questions.

hoedus

What made you think that?

I'm just discovering Arduino, and I thought it was kind of a soft "layer" that helped programming Atmega microctrollers, but still allowed the use of all the functions of the ATmega.
Moreover, the fact that the tutorial proposes a "Minimal Circuit (Eliminating the External Clock)" made me think that all the pins of the controller would be available in this configuration (if this is wrong, I think they should mention it in the tutorial...).

Of course, you tested this on a breadboard first, right?

Of course I did.To one exception: the mapping was different for those two pins. When creating the PCB, these pins were just much more convenient to use. I assumed that just a remapping of two pins would be OK, without needing a new trial.

Now I'm not sure it was a really good idea.
I wonder why...