Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Depth sensor  (Read 934 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi to this amazing community . I'm a Newbie who has the following project in mind . I thought it was easier, but I have no idea how to carry on . I'm a diver who wants to make a profundimeter to measure how deep I am . As I didn't find any depth sensor, I thought in using a pressure sensor.
I had some ideas , like using a barometric sensor inside a sealed cilinder to measure the pressure of the air inside it, but then I realised that, if I put surface air, I will have always the same pressure . Sorry if it sounds silly . So I have no ideas .  

I don't see how to solve it . If anyone could help me, I would thank it. Thanks in advance .  

Porto, Portugal
JoATMoN - Jack of All Trades, Master of None
View Profile

I'm guessing the cylinder wouldn't work as it's a rigid object, therefore not changing a lot according to the outside pressure. But maybe if the sensor is inside a rubber ball, for example, I'm guessing (although I don't have diving experience), that this way the outside pressure will infer on the pressure inside, therefore allowing to measure the change in pressure.

Just a thought... smiley

View Profile

Great idea . When you dive , as you go deeper, the preasures increases one Atm. each ten meters . If I put the sensor inside a rubber ball, it may work . I'll give a try and comment the results . Byeee.

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Shannon Member
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile

you could take a balloon in a cylinder(open at both ends). The cylinder protects the balloon and the electronics?

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

View Profile