Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: So What Should I Expect?  (Read 1041 times)
Corryton, TN, USA
Arduino Rocks!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello Arduino Community (I will remember how to spell it soon)!
I am no newbie to computers, or programming for that matter.  But, I have always wanted to mess around with these boards and circuits.  I have found Arduino to be my best bet, especially after I saw it in the "Popular Science" magazine.  But, I have a few really newbie questions.  I have tried Googling, and found one old thread on "Newbies to Arduino", but the link had changed and I could not find it.  Anyway, here are the questions:
  • I see these "breadboards".  Do I need one if I use the Arduino Fio (with XBee)?
  • Do I need to know how to solder (I am guessing "Yes")?  Is there a kind you recommended?
  • Overall, if I want to have sensors reporting to the Fio, which reports to the house via another XBee hooked up via USB, and then a program handles it.  Do I need anything more than the Fio, sensors, XBee, XBee USB dongle, and the program?  Such as the breadboard and all that?
  • Are there any how-tos that explain this to people like me?
I feel really bad asking these easy questions, but I feel like I have looked my hardest, and there is nowhere else to go.  
Thanks in advanced.  I see this is a nice, responsive forum, and look forward to staying awhile.
Oh, and I might not respond for another 12 hours, since I am going to sleep.  Just do not feel like I have abandon you all.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2011, 09:58:36 pm by corrytonapple » Logged

--Corrytonapple----
Typed while running Debian on Recycled Electrons

Phoenix, Arizona USA
Faraday Member
Where's the beer?
View Profile

Hello Arduino Community (I will remember how to spell it soon)!