Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: River Boat Drive by Wire Controller  (Read 920 times)
Leverkusen Germany
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello Community,

I would like to use an Uno, hooked up to an old, modified Gameport PC Steering Wheel with self made Thrust-Lever (Just a bunch of potentiometers and 4 buttons), to control two DC Motors with potentiometer angle detection (Steering and Throttle), and three relais ( 2 for Bow Thrusters, 1 for Engine Kill) to steer my old and slow little River Boat from other places than the rudder house.
Most of the setup and programming I figured out already even though I am an absolute beginner, but some questions are troubling me.
I try to get my head around a proper calibration method to adjust center and extreme positions from both the input device and the outputs.
I was thinking about end and center sensors mounted to the rudder and throttle lever of the boat, and initialize an reference run at start up, while using one of the buttons at the PC Steering Wheel to switch the Uno to "calibration mode" in which it would detect and memorize  the extreme values of the analog inputs till the button is pushed again to safe the centered positions.
Is there a function to detect and memorize lowest and/or highest values of analog ports? Does someone have a better idea how to match and calibrate inputs and outputs?

Greetings Marco

New Jersey
Faraday Member
View Profile

Inputs are fairly simple because you can test them at your desk - hook up the gaming wheel & throttle as they'll be on the boat, read the inputs and display the values on your PC in the serial monitor. Move the controls through their limits, oberve what you get & use them in your final sketch as constants.