Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: 'Delay' alternative? Need LCD to update!  (Read 653 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Good evening to one and all smiley

Right off the bat I am not a programmer, more the client! Please bear with me and my non-technical language, and numerous errors... I'm sure you'll know what I mean  smiley-wink

I am posting because a friend of mine who is a programmer has been working on a project for me, but I have a little problem with the finished product and he claims that the entire code will need to be re-written to correct the problem! How much truth is in this I'm not sure, but I'm hoping that someone here can shed some light on the problem, and hopefully offer a solution to it!

To keep it simple, the program (which is based on an Arduino ofc) controls a set of 120 LED's and adjust their brightness according to the date. They also fade to on or off over a 30 minute period at set times to the desired brightness. The different brightnesses are set using PWM. The rate of fade is controlled using the 'Delay' function, in that in divides the number of brightness steps required by 30 minutes, and the result set as a delay between steps.

The problem with this is that when the desired brightness is only 2 or 3, the delay is something like 10 minutes between each step, and this also means that the time on the LCD does not update for 10 minutes as the controller is in delay mode and can't do anything. So I ultimately have a clock that is wildly inaccurate when the delay is long.

I believe this is the bit of code that does the delaying @ 20:30...

} else if ((hour() == 20 && minute() == 30 && (second() == 0 || intFadingToPhase == 0)) || intFadingToPhase == 1)  {

if (intFadingToPhase == 0) {
      brightness = 255;
      finalbrightness = pgm_read_word(&ledpwm[phase]);
    }

intFadingToPhase = 1;

intStepSecs = 1800 / (255-finalbrightness);

analogWrite(9, brightness);