Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Need suggestions regarding Severino  (Read 782 times)
discovering the fun in electronics
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,

I am an electronics engineering student and a beginner in arduino stuff. I have a UNO and just etched a Severino (version 3 rev 2) for using in a few projects. I searched extensively about Severino, now I need some suggestions.

After seeing the bootloader page at http://arduino.cc/en/Hacking/Bootloader and post about using USBasp to burn bootloader herehttp://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1282243271/0 I thought about using my USBasp programmer for bootloading the severino using the ICSP pins on the board.

About the above I have these questions:
-> Can I after doing this procedure, program the Severino with just a cable with usb connector on one side and DB9 on other side?

-> If I don't burn the bootloader and just use USBasp on ICSP pins everytime to burn the program for this particular board using arduino IDE as given in the inststuctions at http://arduino.cc/en/Hacking/Programmer
If you would rather use an external programmer for only an individual board, you can edit the boards.txt file in the hardware/ sub-directory of the Arduino application directory. Set the board.upload.using parameter to the identifier of one of the programmers in programmers.txt.
will it be any better or worse than using a bootloader? Or it doesn't matter?

What I am really confused about is that if I have a programmer at my hands, is there a point of burning bootloader in the Atmega8?

Sorry to sound so confused up, but I am smiley

United Kingdom
Tesla Member
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
View Profile