Go Down

Topic: measuring and controlling speed and position of Dc motor (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

hi all
I am new to arduino i want to measure speed of dc motor by using light sensor and then control the speed and position and position by potentiometer. I am using pololu high speed motor controller with arduino which is able to control a 24 V motor Arduino's pin 4 is attached to serial interface of controller and ground is connected to the ground. Now for the begining the code is running fine as I burned the code the motor started rotating backward and forward.

#include <NewSoftSerial.h> 
#define rxPin 3  // pin 3 connects to SMC TX  (not used in this example)
#define txPin 4  // pin 4 connects to SMC RX 
NewSoftSerial mySerial =  NewSoftSerial(rxPin, txPin); 

// required to allow motors to move 
// must be called when controller restarts and after any error 
void exitSafeStart() 

mySerial.print(0x83, BYTE); 

// speed should be a number from -3200 to 3200 
void setMotorSpeed(int speed) 

if (speed < 0) 
  { 
    mySerial.print(0x86, BYTE);  // motor reverse command 
    speed = -speed;  // make speed positive 
  } 
  else
  { 
    mySerial.print(0x85, BYTE);  // motor forward command 
  } 
  mySerial.print((unsigned char)(speed & 0x1F), BYTE); 
  mySerial.print((unsigned char)(speed >> 5), BYTE); 

void setup()   
{
  // initialize software serial object with baud rate of 38.4 kbps
  mySerial.begin(38400);

// the Simple Motor Controller must be running for at least 1 ms
  // before we try to send serial data, so we delay here for 5 ms
  delay(5);

// if the Simple Motor Controller has automatic baud detection
  // enabled, we first need to send it the byte 0xAA (170 in decimal)
  // so that it can learn the baud rate
  mySerial.print(0xAA, BYTE);  // send baud-indicator byte

// next we need to send the Exit Safe Start command, which
  // clears the safe-start violation and lets the motor run