Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Recording voice, storing, and retrieving  (Read 1421 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hey, I'm new to arduino, so go easy on me!

I'm building an electronic sculpture as part of my HND project. The basis of what I'm trying to do is to take audio input, store it, then play it back later.

More complex is that I need to record many audio files (basically someone speaking for probably no longer than 15 seconds). I would also need to play one of these files randomly, depending on certain conditions. These will be separate events, so it only needs to do record or playback at any one time, which will be selected by the user.

A detailed explanation of my project is as follows:
 My project is basically a story made up of several parts. These parts connect to each other via a fixed beginning and end. The middle is up to the user to fill in. This is done via audio input (although I'm starting to think text would be easier  smiley-sad).
 A user would select a part of the story and record their version as an audio file.
 When the story is played back it chooses a random appropriate audio file for each individual part sequentially, thus (likely) creating a different story each time. This may be solvable via my code, as long as I am able to specify a file name when it is being wrote.

I'm aware of a few problems:
 The storage on the arduino is not going to large enough, so I need an external storage medium (SD card or something?), and a way of communicating with this and the input/output.
 If I am trying to record or play audio from an external storage the arduino may not be able to process (sample?) the data fast enough.
 The files need to be stored in such a way that I can randomly select only the files linked to a specific part of the story - it can't randomly play any file for any part as it wouldn't make sense.