Go Down

Topic: Is it possible to get a 32 MHz sample rate with digital inputs? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

PaulaS

Hi,
I was wondering if it is possible to sample a digital signal of 32 MHz with Arduino. The signal is the output of an ADC of 14 bits. This ADC comes wiht a bit for Data validation, which I think might be helpful for synchronization. I don't care about the model, I just need to know if it is possible to get this rate in any of them.

Thanks for your help.

rw950431

Given the typical ATMega328 based arduino runs a clock speed of 16Mhz I suspect the answer is no.

Budvar10

I have no complete knowledge about all Ardino boards but probably no one has 14bit ADC and 32MHz sampling. DUE and ZERO have 12bit ADC. You will need an extra chip for that (e.g. ADC from TI).
Arduino clone with ATmega1284P   http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=277260.0

jremington

I think you will need a micro with at least 320 MHz clock speed to sample at 32 MHz. The Raspberry Pi might be able to do that, if specially configured (linux is not a real time operating system).

PaulaS

I have no complete knowledge about all Ardino boards but probably no one has 14bit ADC and 32MHz sampling. DUE and ZERO have 12bit ADC. You will need an extra chip for that (e.g. ADC from TI).
Yes, the ADC is external. I've built a prototype with one from Maxim that meets this conditions and I would like to make a register of the digital output in my PC to analyze it.

I think you will need a micro with at least 320 MHz clock speed to sample at 32 MHz. The Raspberry Pi might be able to do that, if specially configured (linux is not a real time operating system).