Go Down

Topic: Multiple LCDs (Read 2214 times) previous topic - next topic

jasonch

I have the Uno, and I want to drive 4 LCDs with just the one board. I already saw the topic from before which included driving 4 LCDs at once (@ http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1265969050), however the LCDs I'm using are rather different from the ones used in the example: I'm using the Varitronix VI-401-DP 7-Segment display, which seems to require a few dozen connections for just one. Would I still be able to drive the 4 of them with the single board, or would I need to get different LCDs?

P.S. This is my first time programming displays, and I'm still working out the kinks just in terms of the right display to get, as shown with getting the LCDs before I had settled on a microcontroller (I had a good reason at the time; I just forget what it was :smiley-roll-sweat:).

floresta

A link to the datasheet would really help.

Don

Korman

Driving these displays is very easy. Just assume each segment is a led, make one long daisy chain of shift registers like the 74hc595. You'll need one per digit, makes four per display. Depending on your requirements, you can either make one very long chain or one chain per display. If you make multiple chains, you can share data and clock lines between all displays and just have individual latch lines. For one long chain, you just need 3 pins all together.

Before doing so, check what kind of voltage and current those segments need and whether the display is a common anode or cathode type. The datasheets I found didn't say anything about that.

Korman

liudr

I think there should be 7-segment LED driver chips that do these more elegantly. Google them.

jasonch

This is the only datasheets that was provided with the LCDs I got : http://www.varitronix.com/Product/LCD/VI-401-DP(R0).pdf