Go Down

Topic: external RAM (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

HassanBasil

Hello everyone, this is my very first post here ^^

Alright so, I'm somewhat new to electronics, especially MCUs, and I bought an arduino mega1280
for a project i will be starting on, i need two buffers to store some bytes in, each one would need around 1256KB available, they will need to be re-written 30-60 times in a second (hope that is not so crazy :s), so i've been searching here and there on the net and i don't seem to find this size of RAM, i found this (datasheet) http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/22100E.pdf, that's 256 KB each if i'm correct? well, so i thought i could use 5 of them for each buffer.

also note that i don't access both buffers at the same time, so just assume i have only 1 buffer (which is 5 RAMs).

my questions are:
well first off, SRAM stands for Static RAM, well, since it's "static", is it the right one to use for my issue? or i need a dynamic RAM (which i haven't found any so far on the net)
also, what's the clock speed of the RAM? would it make any difference? how so?
and, how can i hook a RAM (like the one mentioned above) to my arduino? in the datasheet: CS, SO, SI, SCK, what are they, and how to use them/access them through code?

Sorry if that's too much to ask
Thanks for reading.

fat16lib

These are 256 K bit not byte.  Your speed requirement is about 100 times faster than the SPI bus.

HassanBasil

These are 256 K bit not byte.  Your speed requirement is about 100 times faster than the SPI bus.

ah that's disappointing :/ thanks for your answer