Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
Author Topic: Is This Everything I Need To Successfully Build a Robot?  (Read 2085 times)
Portland, OR
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

A nine volt is not a good choice. Those motors each draw about half an amp while running with larger spikes on starting up. Add in you other stuff and you battery will last a maybe, ten minutes? At that point the battery voltage will likely go below the 7 volts you need to run through the voltage regulator on the arduino to get 5 volts for that.

View Profile

I'm sorry to keep asking so many simple questions (for you). I'm an absolute beginner at this, and I'm not that educated on electronics. So what kind of battery is typically used in rover-like robots?

Portland, OR
View Profile

I'm sorry if this seems difficult, but then its not a simple question for others to answer without a little bit more from you since many of the sub-questions involved can only really be answered by you.

I'm not sure what is typically used, I use rechargeable AA nimh cells, but that is what I have around.

If you want this to come out well you are going to need to do some research and some arithmetic. I can lay down the process I would go through for something like this.

First ask, what do I want my robot to do? You want yours to be able to wander without running into obstacles directly in front of it. Then I would try to break it down to sub-problems, the above goal seems to have two in my mind, movement and obstacle detection.

OK, then how fast should it be able to move? For how long? These are questions that you can answer. Then pick motors and gears based on that and projected weight of the finished bot. Since this is going to be your first robot you probably don't have any firm requirements for speed which makes it easy to pick a motor, those motors with that gearbox should be fine.

How will it detect obstacles? Great, you've picked a method with the ir sensor.