Go Down

Topic: Project Feasibility to display Work in progress and Priority (Read 59 times) previous topic - next topic

Duhmingo

Hi Everyone, I am new to this forum and the Arduino community and I wanted to start a project for my small business and I wanted to propose my idea to see if this kind of undertaking is even possible using Arduinos.  I apologize if this is not the right place to post this. 

Before I begin, I have some programming experience with visual basic and C++ and basic knowledge of electronics.  I am not an engineer in any sense of the word so I apologize if I'm not able to pick up certain terms or comprehend quickly.

My business is very small, I never went to school for business and I started this company as a means to pursue my passion.  I currently employ around 20 people, I just recently won contract from a large company who is very demanding and I am having a lot problems with the constant changes and demands.  They are my only customer and I have to keep up with their demands so my business can stay afloat so I am trying new things and doing anything I can to keep my business alive.
To make production more efficient, I divided my assembly line into three small assembly lines labeled 1, 2, and 3 to reduce confusion and mixups.

I decided to "Kit" each job in assembly line to make sure we don't mix up the different parts and quantities each job.  The kit is simply a colored plastic box where they keep the parts.  Currently I have 20 different kits for each line.

I am having a lot difficulty tracking and starting the correct job so I made a Rack that will hold a maximum of 5 boxes at a time back-to-back.  So in total I have 60 racks (20 racks for each line) that holds 5 boxes (back to back).

When kit is finished, the boxes slides on sloping rails so as each box is inserted into the rack slides down to the first position to the delivery truck to take to my customer for final assembly.