Go Down

Topic: Confused with output (Read 246 times) previous topic - next topic

Strahan

Aug 28, 2016, 05:12 am Last Edit: Aug 28, 2016, 08:36 am by Strahan
Hi.  I'm a beginner with Arduino stuff.  I was thinking up things I could do with it so I decided to make it accept text sent over the serial port and convert it to morse and flash the LED appropriately.  I have the morse part down so I decided to get fancy and allow reconfiguring the program over serial.  I figured I'd do "cfg-dit" to set dit length, "cfg-led" to set the pin for the LED and "cfg-pzo" to set the pin for the piezo buzzer.

I wrote the serial reader and started with the cfg-dit one.  Tested it, worked perfectly.  I then copied the code and pasted it and changed dit to led and changed the variable it updated.  I assumed that'd work but it broke it.

This is the code that works:
Code: [Select]

void loop() {
  if (Serial.available()) {
    char inputStr = Serial.read();
    if (String(inputStr) == "\n") {
      buffer.toLowerCase(); boolean skipMorse = false;
      if (buffer.substring(0,7) == "cfg-dit") {
        skipMorse = true;
        if (buffer.length() == 7) {
          Serial.println("Dit duration is currently: " + String(ditlength));
        } else {
          if (buffer.length() >= 9) {
            ditlength = buffer.substring(8, buffer.length()).toInt();
            Serial.println("Set dit duration to " + String(ditlength));
          } else {
            Serial.println("Invalid usage.");
          }
        }
      }
      if (!skipMorse) Morse(buffer);
      buffer = "";
    } else {
      buffer += inputStr;
    }
  }
}

ditlength is an int.  Using that code, I open a terminal emulator and send "cfg-dit" and I see this:

cfg-dit
Dit duration is currently: 93

Cool.  So this is what I had post adding led:

void loop() {
  if (Serial.available()) {
    char inputStr = Serial.read();
    if (String(inputStr) == "\n") {
      buffer.toLowerCase(); boolean skipMorse = false;