Go Down

Topic: adding a delay? (Read 170 times) previous topic - next topic

mbartolucci

Dec 04, 2016, 02:30 am Last Edit: Dec 04, 2016, 02:39 am by mbartolucci
Hello,
I am new to the programming and arduino world...
i managed to get an LED to fade in and out. but once it is completely off (at 0?), it startsturning on again immediately. How do I tell it to wait 1 second before starting again? or better yet, how to I get it to fade in and out equally like a wave) The code I am using is below. Please explain as much as possible! thank you!

int ledPin = 9;   

void setup() {
}

void loop() {
  for (int fadeValue = 0 ; fadeValue <= 255; fadeValue += 5) {
    analogWrite(ledPin, fadeValue);
    delay(30);
  }

for (int fadeValue = 255 ; fadeValue >= 0; fadeValue -= 5) {
    delay(30);
  }
}

LarryD

Dec 04, 2016, 02:33 am Last Edit: Dec 04, 2016, 02:34 am by LarryD
If you must use delay()
Code: [Select]
delay(1000);   // 1000 milli seconds

No technical PMs.
The last thing you did is where you should start looking.

mbartolucci

If you must use delay()
delay(1000);   // 1000 milli seconds

im sorry.. I cant figure out where to pt that in the code... Where would I put that?

Jimmy60

You've got loops inside a loop. You can do what you want with a single loop. Consider what you might do with fadeValue inside this loop. Then find a way to do it without using delay().

ChrisTenone

Put it right after your looped statements:

delay(30);
  }

delay(1000);

Oh, and quote my reply so you can see the better way of expressing your code in the forum.
Wubba lubba dub dub!

xniinja

Dec 04, 2016, 04:45 am Last Edit: Dec 04, 2016, 04:57 am by xniinja
You said you wanted the light to fade like a wave, in this case you probably want to approach this a bit differently.

Think of the sin function. For some x value, it outputs a y value. We can think of this in terms of your program. In the case of your program, time is the x value. So, we can say that

brightness = sin(time)