Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino as a Simple Power Source  (Read 2968 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'll be honest and say I can't remember why I thought of this, but is there a simple way to have the Arduino output power and nothing else?
I'll admit I have no specific reasons of wanting to do this, it's just something I thought of the other day and couldn't find it referenced anywhere.

Also, I am completely new to Arduino/electronics etc, but if this does work, the flow of how things work is (in the case of Arduino) 5v --> components on breadboard --> Ground, right?

Thanks for the help!

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Shannon Member
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile

Can be done but depends on the load the breadboard will use...  Too much and the Arduino can/will be damaged

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

Global Moderator
Dallas
Shannon Member
View Profile

I'll be honest and say I can't remember why I thought of this, but is there a simple way to have the Arduino output power and nothing else?

Each pin on the processor is able to supply 20 ma * 5 volts = 0.1 watts of power.  To output that power on a pin requires two lines of code...

pinMode( 7, OUTPUT );  // Turn pin 7 into an OUTPUT
  digitalWrite( 7, HIGH );  // +5V is now present on pin 7

Also, I am completely new to Arduino/electronics etc, but if this does work, the flow of how things work is (in the case of Arduino) 5v Pin --> components on breadboard --> Ground, right?

Right (with a minor clarification).  The keyword for that circuit is "source"; as in the pin "sources" five volts or "sources" 20 milliamperes.

It is also possible to wire...

Arduino Pin --> components on breadboard --> 5V