Go Down

Topic: How much shock damage can an Arduino take? (Read 3425 times) previous topic - next topic

Awesome Applesauce

I'm considering a project that involves strapping my precious Arduino and some sensors to the underneath of my unicycle seat.  This has led me to start considering how much shock damage an Arduino board can take before it fails.  If I were to fall off my unicycle and faceplant, how well would my Arduino fair as my unicycle seat hurtles downward and slams into the ground with considerable force?

Is this clearly a misguided idea?  Should I consider not doing this?  Or should I try a better way of breaking my board?  Also I'm fairly new to the Arduino, so what do you think the worst think I could possibly do to it would be?  Maybe attempting to wire it while holding onto a van de graph generator?

Thanks in advance.

zoomkat

With some shock protective packaging, the arduino will probably last longer than you.
Google forum search: Use Google Advanced Search and use Http://forum.arduino.cc/index in the "site or domain:" box.

cr0sh

If you're really concerned about it, then you should protect against it. Prototype your system using a standard Arduino apart from the unicycle; when you get to a point of needing to mount and test it, either purchase the parts to build a "standalone" Arduino, or look into a "Really Bare Bones" clone system.