Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Assign each Byte of a long or int a value  (Read 474 times)
Marburg/GER
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hallo,
I have just ordered my Arduino and started to work on programming a bit. Well... I am quite new to Microprocessors and my c-experince is some years back. So sorry if I got something wrong (just tell me).

My problem is:
I get a datastream from a Sensor (Cloud Droplet Probe) as a 156byte hex stream via serial.read. The datatypes are mixed up (uint, ulong, char, (fancy 48 bit unsigned Extra long which wont be accessible I think). The data will be stored in an byte array of that size to manipulate it.
Well, the problem is that the byte orders are a bit crossed like it seems. ulong has byteorder 2,3,0,1 for example. I would like to assigne these values from the fields of the array to their appropriate belonging in the variabales.
For example:
Bin2Count is given by byte 38 to byte 41 in the stream and so I would like to assign
unsigned long Bin2Count[2]=data[38];
unsigned long Bin2Count[3]=data[39];
unsigned long Bin2Count[0]=data[40];
unsigned long Bin2Count[1]=data[41];

http://www.dropletmeasurement.com/manuals/Hardware%20Manuals/DOC-0029%20CDP%20Manual.pdf  Page 33 shows the Byteorder.

Thanks in advance for your help.

I think appending to a string wouldn't work, because an unsigned long is an unsigned long and no string. Or maybe is it possible to create binary strings and append them? But as far as I remember conversions between characters and int weren't that nice.

Montreal
Edison Member
Per aspera ad astra.
View Profile

You can declare union, look at this as example:
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,66206.0/topicseen.html

Arduino rocks
View Profile

You could also use some bitshifting and OR a few bytes into a long:

Code:
uint32_t bigNumber = (data[40] << 0) | (data[41] << 8) | (data[38] << 16) | (data[39] << 24); // uint32_t is unsigned 32-bit long

Marburg/GER
View Profile