Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Down
Author Topic: I want to build an autonomous GPRS weather station  (Read 18047 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 30
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes, the 4 minutes ringed a bell, i immediately looked it up, the manual says the base station needs approx. 4 minutes to sync with the sensors, but only for the first time you set it up, or when you need to change the batteries. It doesn't say it syncs every 4 minutes on its own. Are you suggesting that it is? Because if that signal is complex as you say it is, than that's got to be it.

"Data stored for further processing" could mean only one thing, it is stored in temporary memory and used to calculate the average values of wind speed, wind chill and possibly everything else measured.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2010, 09:37:43 am by aerozg » Logged

Rome
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 987
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Yes, the 4 minutes ringed a bell, i immediately looked it up, the manual says the base station needs approx. 4 minutes to sync with the sensors, but only for the first time you set it up, or when you need to change the batteries. It doesn't say it syncs every 4 minutes on its own. Are you suggesting that it is? Because if that signal is complex as you say it is, than that's got to be it.
I only saw that the 4-mins signal is 3-4 times longer than the 30-secs signal, didn't examine it.


Quote
"Data stored for further processing" could mean only one thing, it is stored in temporary memory and used to calculate the average values of wind speed, wind chill and possibly everything else measured.
It's just my idea, I didn't read it anywhere. Don't know if there is onboard processing in sensor.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2010, 11:00:33 am by jumpjack » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 38
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

About the gsm maybe u should check
http://hackaday.com/2010/10/18/cheap-and-easy-sms-via-gsm-for-your-mcu/
http://code.google.com/p/sserial2mobile/
and if it has to be a module, i think this 1 is 1 of cheapest, i might be wrong
http://www.cooking-hacks.com/index.php/arduino-gprs-module.html
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 30
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks for that post from HackADay, it will help. Sserial2mobile i found a month ago and i'm looking into it. And the Arduino GRPS module is indeed one of the cheapest i have seen yet, i think i will get that one.
Logged

Rome
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 987
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

GPRS modems for 25$ is a very cool news, thanks! But I see I should connect the modem to the arduino through TX and RX pins of a pl2303 chip, which is just an USB-serial converter; as such a converter costs around 10$, should we guess that some GPRS serial modem exist and are sold for 15$ ?!?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 30
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

GPRS serial modems do not come cheap, they cost around 130$+ or even more.

http://www.smsco.it/tomcat/en/buy/show.do#modem
Logged

Rome
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 987
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Funny.  :-?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 30
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Here's some cheap GSM/GPRS modem modules:

WaveCom q2403a 1800/900mhz GSM Module GSM Modem GPRS Modem dev kit
http://www.no1electric.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=11&products_id=262

RIM 1802G 1800 MHZ 900 MH GSM GPRS Modem Module
http://www.no1electric.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=11&products_id=261
http://cgi.ebay.com/RIM-1802G-1800-MHZ-900-MH-GSM-GPRS-OEM-Modem-Module-/290276292642?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4395d0b822

LinkSprite GSM/GPRS SM5100B Modem Module
http://cgi.ebay.com/LinkSprite-GSM-GPRS-SM5100B-Modem-Module-/270604215104?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f0144a340

TMAS GSM/GPRS Wireless Modem Terminal TMA-M55i 1900MHz
http://cgi.ebay.com/TMAS-GSM-GPRS-Wireless-Modem-Terminal-TMA-M55i-1900MHz-/150534453298?pt=PCC_Modems&hash=item230c8d7832

ENFORA GSM2218-01 MT-GL GPS/GSM/GPRS QUAD-BAND MODEM
http://cgi.ebay.com/11-ENFORA-GSM2218-01-MT-GL-GPS-GSM-GPRS-QUAD-BAND-MODEM-/370468649136?pt=GPS_Devices&hash=item5641a6f8b0

« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 05:17:32 am by aerozg » Logged

Rome
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 987
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What about the wavecom at the end of this page?
http://www.carrideo.it/shopping2.htm

Any datasheet available?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 30
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The last being the Wavecom INTEGRA M2103A - WM12816, correct?

In 2009 Wavecom was acquired by Sierra Wireless, they have a link on their website for Legacy products:

http://www.sierrawireless.com/productsandservices/AirPrime/Legacy_Products.aspx

under legacy Integra modems there is a link to support and documentation pdf:

http://www.wavecom.com/modules/movie/scenes/products/index.php?fuseAction=download&key=fe9844deede292248eb870ee348ccff4&file=020_Hardware%20documentation/030_Specifications%20and%20User%20Guides/WA_DEV_M2106_PTS_003-001.pdf
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 20
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Just capture signal isnt good enought without knowing what exactly system send.

"Wind" device basicly have 4 sensors :
1) Wind Speed
2) Wind orientation
3) Outside temperatura
4) Outside humidity

I did some research becouse I need that device to send data via 1-wire network, but finaly I decide to use both information (I like wide LED screen smiley )

What sensor is used :

1) Wind speed (reed switch)
    Half period on / half period off (not so usual but O.K.)
2) Wind orientation (not sure at the moment)
    From outside device come 7 wire, 2 of them are for Wind Speed , so
    we have 5 other , 16 orientation of wind , that mean 2^4, 1 wire in 4
    out maybe digital/or analog
3) Outside temperature (Normal thermo resistor)
    Analog value
4) Humidity sensor (Low lewel)
    Measuring resistance beatween two cooper field

Rain gouge
Standard dual reed switch system

If I am on your place I will use rein gouge for testing and alayzing signals.

When I finish 1-wire implementation I will send more info on forum.  
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 30
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thank you for the info,  i'm also using the rain gauge for testing and have come to the same conclusion. But i will try a different approach, my idea is to try to patch in to the base station itself and somehow extract the data. It receives the sensor data, calculates and displays it on the lcd. There has to be a way i can intercept the displayed calculated values.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi everybody.
I also got the auriol weather station and would like to interface it  to the pc.
Aerozg i like your approach , i am looking forward for your results.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 20
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Some small changes :

Rain gouge :
* only one reed switch, count off state (which is very unpractical, battery life)
* 1-wire ready (4N25)

Wind station:
* wind speed count Low state (GND) - 1-wire ready (4N25)
* wind orientation is reed short time before sending data and very probably used 4 reed switch and few diodes

I have few picture of inner PCB which will be posted later.

Finally, in my opinion it will be very hard to decode radio communication from central device, because electrically all 3 devices are different construction, and doesnt seam to be from same source.

Especially central device isnt good example how to create industrial PCB smiley (it look like amateurs work).
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 20
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Wind orientation on central device display dont show exat position at measuring time (maybe I need to configure something smiley ).

Algoritam of orientation presentation is very upredictable, it doesnt appear it is avrage position after few reeds. It show some adding behavior, but still upredictable.

Aerozg if I understand correctly you study aerospace engineering (FPZ) maybe you know what algoritham is used for wind orientation presentation ?
Logged

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Up
Jump to: