Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Cannot upload: programmer is not responding  (Read 1509 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 11
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi everyone,

I got a Arduino starter pack as a birthday present yesterday, so please excuse my noobness!

It's some Freeduino that should be equivalent to Arduino Duemilanove with a ATmega168.

My first surprise was when I plugged it into my USB hub and not only did the green power LED light up, but the LED of Port 13 started to blink constantly. Is a brand new board supposed to do that? (From reading the Troubleshooting stuff, I think it is telling me that the boot loader is OK, right?)

Anyway, I tried to upload a first sketch, and the RX LED is blinking shortly, but the TX stays dark. A little bit later (I suppose after some timeout) the Arduino IDE reports this (under OSX):

Binary sketch size: 1018 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)
/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -C/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega168 -cstk500v1 -P/dev/tty.usbserial-FTUHMFDZ -b19200 -D -Uflash:w:/var/folders/Ua/UajAKRV7Gf0CH0CwdrTzSk+++TI/-Tmp-/build5958980684931737838.tmp/Blink.cpp.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct  9 2007 at 11:20:31
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

         System wide configuration file is "/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"
         User configuration file is "/Users/holger/.avrduderc"
         User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

         Using Port            : /dev/tty.usbserial-FTUHMFDZ
         Using Programmer      : stk500v1
         Overriding Baud Rate  : 19200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: Send: Q [51]   [20]
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

I tried this on the same machine under Win7 as well, with same/similar results.

Using a different USB cable didn't work either.

Tools/Serial Port is working, I can send something and the RX LED blinks shortly. (Am I supposed to get something back? The TX LED is staying dark here as well.)

I tried to change the Baud rate to 9600, but somehow I didn't manage to. (Adding "serial.download_rate=9600" to preferences.txt didn't do it.)

Any more ideas/hints? Ot is the board broken? Should I return it?

Many thanks in advance!

Holger
Logged

Bogotá
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 16
Aprendiendo mucho pero necesito ayuda
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have se same problem , I thing the atmega328 is reprograming and the bootloader is auto-damage
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 212
Posts: 13085
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


@hdort: Which board do you have selected?
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 11
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It's the entry including "Arduino Duemilanove", ending with "ATmega168"
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 212
Posts: 13085
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Are you certain "/dev/tty.usbserial-FTUHMFDZ" is the correct serial port?
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 11
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

With the board unplugged, I only have Bluetooth devices listed; after pluggin in, I see two more devices: "/dev/tty.usbserial-FTUHMFDZ" and "/dev/cu.usbserial-FTUHMFDZ".

The results for the "cu" port are pretty much the same:


Binary sketch size: 1018 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)
/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -C/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega168 -cstk500v1 -P/dev/cu.usbserial-FTUHMFDZ -b19200 -D -Uflash:w:/var/folders/Ua/UajAKRV7Gf0CH0CwdrTzSk+++TI/-Tmp-/build5780944342377085623.tmp/Blink.cpp.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct  9 2007 at 11:20:31
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

         System wide configuration file is "/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"
         User configuration file is "/Users/holger/.avrduderc"
         User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

         Using Port            : /dev/cu.usbserial-FTUHMFDZ
         Using Programmer      : stk500v1
         Overriding Baud Rate  : 19200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: Send: Q [51]   [20]
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 212
Posts: 13085
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Try a "loop back" test...

http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,57410.msg412518.html#msg412518
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 11
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I haven't had the time yet to do the loop back test, but I've just updated the FTDI Windows driver and did a new test, with unchanged results.

Here's the log:

Binary sketch size: 1018 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)
C:\temp\arduino-0022\hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -CC:\temp\arduino-0022\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega168 -cstk500v1 -P\\.\COM8 -b19200 -D -Uflash:w:C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Temp\build1714825568610888157.tmp\Blink.cpp.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct 11 2007 at 19:12:32
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

         System wide configuration file is "C:\temp\arduino-0022\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

         Using Port            : \\.\COM8
         Using Programmer      : stk500v1
         Overriding Baud Rate  : 19200
avrdude: ser_open(): setting dtr
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: Send: Q [51]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

avrdude done.  Thank you.

Is this giving any more hints?
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

try downloading arduino version 18
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 11
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Using Arduino 18 makes no difference, neither under Mac OSX nor under Win7 :-(
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 11
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


OK, the loop-back test was successful, I got everything sent back that I entered.

What does this mean now? Is the processor kaput?
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 212
Posts: 13085
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


The next step is to try a manual-reset.  The auto-reset may not be working.  This is what I do...

• Hold the reset button

• Click Upload

• When the message "Binary sketch size:" is displayed, release the reset button
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 11
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

This is something I already tried a couple of times with various timings, but that never worked.
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 212
Posts: 13085
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
It's some Freeduino

Which one?
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 11
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
It's some Freeduino

Which one?


I don't know; it is included in this package: http://www.amazon.de/Lernpaket-Mikrocontroller-Technik-Arduino-Freeduino-Bauteilen/dp/3645650644/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1311492616&sr=8-3

I guess it's custom made, there's even the companys name "Franzis" on the board.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: