Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: How To: Multiple motors connection  (Read 3071 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,

First of all, pardon me as i'm a newbie... smiley-red
My background is at programming and i've recently been commissioned to build an installation at an event where i believe arduino may help.

The project is to build a series of fans, around 30, (doesn't need to be CPU fans, can be just motors holding a strap of plastic or card), where i blow into a microphone and it outputs the force to the fans making them start.

The code to make that work is not a problem. I can make that work with ease... What i'm struggling with is to find out how to connect multiple motors to an arduino, is that even possible? i've search around and it got me nowhere, maybe here you can point me to the right direction.

Sorry if this has been asked before... i have not found a simple answer for this many connections to a single device... ( money is not an issue here  - in case more devices are needed -  suggest solutions as you will )

Thankyou,

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

What i'm struggling with is to find out how to connect multiple motors to an arduino, is that even possible?
Depends on how you want to do it, and how much control you need over the motors.

If you just want to turn the motors on, a simple relay that controls power to the motors will suffice. A SSR or transistor controlled relay will be controllable directly from a digital pin.

If you need to vary the speed of the fans, or turn only some of them on, things get more difficult.

Your requirements are?

View Profile

Thanks for the reply Paul,

I need to control them independently,(sort of: they will be stacked in columns) but i  do not need to control the speed.