Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Is there a way to read many(more than 30) photodiodes?  (Read 1077 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi. I'm new to the Arduino and hardwares. smiley-neutral

I'm trying to build an array of laser-diodes and its photodiodes pairs so that I can use it as a photo-interrupter-array.
When any interruption happens on any pair, I should be able to find out which one was interrupted.

I tried it with one pair and it worked fine, but the problem is the Arduino chip has limited number of analog-pins.

Is there any way to connect many such as 30 or even more photodiodes to be read via Arduino chip?
Or maybe there's way to extend the number of readable analog pins?
« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 02:09:32 pm by namush » Logged

View Profile

Thank you for your response.

What's going to happen is that..
A quite fast moving water-drop will pass the line of array of photointerrupting detectors.
One water-drop will be dropped at once, not multiple droppings will happen at the same time.

But, it's still quite fast dropping water-drop.
Thus, if it's possible to collect all the data at the same time, it's the best.
If it's not, then I guess I have to try to see if it's fast enough not to miss a water-dropping even when I installed more than 30 detectors.
(I'm not 100% sure exactly how many detectors will be used. But, 30 is sort of minimum number.)

I guess the digital sensing is also ok. I just thought analog is better since it can sense the variance of interruption.
But the most important thing is that it senses the passing water-drop. As long as it can detect that, digital sensor is fine too.

By the way, I'm using the Arduino Uno.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 03:41:41 am by namush » Logged

View Profile

> I'm not sure Arduino is up to that task. Do you even have the mechanics and optics worked out to reliably sense a falling drop?