Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino + Touch LCD + Sensor + SDcard + Bluetooth?  (Read 1084 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi!

as you can see in the subject im  searching help at least for my "little" project. smiley-red


to understand what im trying to do:

i want a small processing unit with a lcd what acting like a terminal.

the sensor has acually a 4-20mAh output, is it possible to work directly on arduino with this output?
if not,  there is a sensor available with 0-4,5V output <- this should go with the digital input from the arduino.

i want a touch lcd on it where i can programm a menu with buttons.
on a button click the ardunio should record the values from the sensor to a sd card.

after collecting some records it should be possible to send the data via bluetooth or wifi? to a pc?!

can someone say if this is possible  and what i need for this?

i found for exsample http://www.adafruit.com/products/330 this lcd,  whould it be possible to add bluetooth and a option for reading a sensor?

hope you can help me an sorry for my ultra bad english
Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 617
Posts: 49463
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
the sensor has acually a 4-20mAh output
Not likely, since only batteries have amp-hour ratings.

The sensor might have a 4 to 20 mA output, but that is not really relevant, since current is pulled, not pushed.

The voltage that the sensor outputs is much more important.

Quote
can someone say if this is possible  and what i need for this?
Yes it is. You've already listed everything you'd need.
Logged

Bristol, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 1197
Exhibitor at UK Maker Faire
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The sensor might have a 4 to 20 mA output, but that is not really relevant, since current is pulled, not pushed.

The voltage that the sensor outputs is much more important.

With this type of sensor, the current represents the quantity being sensed. The voltage in the circuit is irrelevant. It's done this way so that changes in the resistance of the cables does not affect the readings. The display devices used with these sensors are designed to measure the current and use that, suitably scaled, to drive the display.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2011, 12:42:58 pm by Anachrocomputer » Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 617
Posts: 49463
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
With this type of sensor, the current represents the quantity being sensed.
What type of sensor is that?
Logged

Bristol, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 1197
Exhibitor at UK Maker Faire
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What type of sensor is that?

The OP mentioned a 4-20mA sensor. They're commonly used in industrial control systems for temperature, pressure, all sorts of things.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4-20mA
« Last Edit: August 04, 2011, 12:52:12 pm by Anachrocomputer » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

hi, thanks for reply

here a data sheet of a similar one.

http://www.tecsis.de/filestore.aspx/de708.pdf?pool=website&type=file&id=37db5fa0-880e-48df-b247-c7c5eb785348&lang=en&filetype=default

* 708.pdf (238.62 KB - downloaded 7 times.)
« Last Edit: August 05, 2011, 12:13:20 am by foxlol » Logged

Greenville, IL
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 15
Posts: 1330
Warning Novice on board! 0 to 1 chance of errors!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


  Per the datasheet you need a 8 to 30 volt power supply in series with your sensor. You then would need a resistor in series with the PS and sensor to measure voltage and calculate current. I calculate a 250 ohm resistor will give you 5 volts at 20ma. You may want to set-up something to protect your Arduino in case of failure so that the voltage will never exceed 5 volts.


Mark
Logged


Bristol, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 1197
Exhibitor at UK Maker Faire
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If you have the choice, the 0-5V version of the pressure sensor might be a better one for interfacing with an Arduino.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: