Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
Author Topic: Unable to upload programs to an Arduino Mega2560  (Read 3672 times)
Durango, Colorado, USA
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have looked at a lot of posts, but don't see an image or description of where the location of the pin to short to ground is.  It looks like the group of 6 pins near the usb port is the same as on the UNO, but I can't figure out where the two pins in the UNO illustration are on the MEGA.

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Faraday Member
View Profile

It's the two pads near the 6-pins (for the 8U2) on the back of the Mega 2560.

Durango, Colorado, USA
Arduino rocks
View Profile

Thanks - even the Arduino official site says that the solder pads are next to the map of Italy silkscreened on the back of the board.  I really appreciate your clear and concise tutorial.

View Profile

Hi,

I'm totally new to Arduino (received this morning the UNO) and I have very few experience with microcontrollers. Here is my experience with the serial issue discussed in this post, in the end my question.

I have an ubuntu 9.10, Arduino UNO, arduino0022 (32bit even if my pc is 64 bit; I guess a Java compatibility issue without consequences for this post).

After 5 minutes of unpackaging I was able to run the blinking led example so I tried the "AnalogReadSerial" and got my board stacked with the TX led always on.

I (eventually) updated the firmware as described in several posts but the problems was still there.

I solved by connecting the board to a Windows PC and uploading a different sketch. I unlocked the /dev/ATM0 serial port on my Linux PC and then it worked again.

I do not know why but I'm not sure I correctly upgraded the firmware.

Now the question, how can I prompt the board to verify the uploaded firmware?

In case the firmware is not upgraded what is exactly the command to avoid until I upgrade the firmware correctly?

thanks in advance,
g.

God Member
View Profile