Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Serial Arduino  (Read 1496 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello people...I am a newbie to arduino and I was just trying out the serial communication technique. The problem is that, the arduino accepts data as characters, not in numbers. So I couldn't send in a number like '15' to it, as it saw it as 1 followed by 5, i.e; two characters. I use Ubuntu. Arduino Deumilanove. What do I do about it i.e; how do i send two digit number?

Bristol, UK
Edison Member
Exhibitor at UK Maker Faire
View Profile

You'll have to accept characters into an array, and then stop when you get a delimiter of some sort (e.g. a return). Use 'atoi' to get the integer value of that character array:

Code:
int ival;
ival = atoi (str);

View Profile

Code:
void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(9,OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
  int i=0;
  int in;
  int input=0;
  if(Serial.available())
  {
      int j=Serial.read();
      while(j!=10)  //ASCII for Enter
      {   
      int in=j-'0';
      input+=in*pow(10,i);
      i++;
      j=Serial.read();  //Reading another character
      }

}

analogWrite(9,input);
  delay(3000);
  analogWrite(9,0);

}

This is supposed to change LED brightness according to the input I give. The LED seems to be On for as much as a millisecond(perhaps shorter?) and then switches off. Logically, doesn't this have to work?

View Profile

Ok, actually the LED doesn't switch on at all. Turns out it was the reflection from the Tx LED.   smiley-slim

nr Bundaberg, Australia
Tesla Member
Scattered showers my arse -- Noah, 2348BC.
View Profile

So I couldn't send in a number like '15' to it

You can send binary if you like

Serial.print (15, BYTE);

will send a single byte with a value of 15.