Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Strange problem with DIY arduino  (Read 792 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Poland
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 58
Newbie
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have two arduinos, one Uno and one made by myself using Atmega8 and http://itp.nyu.edu/physcomp/Tutorials/ArduinoBreadboard scheme.

I turn Uno to ISP programmer using proper sketch and disabling auto reset using a cap between reset and gnd pins.
And problems begins... I burn bootloader on second board without problems, next I used blink to see some effects smiley After that I use sketch that  give HIGH to all digital ports (to test solders and connections)... but all circuit is dead. I burn bootloader once more, use Blink and it works... till next upload.. It seems that cotroller wipe bootloader from memory.
Some advices ?
Logged

I have solution !
But it involves spherical chickens in frictionless vacuum...

Scotland
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 988
Have you had your Arduino fix today?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi MAX - the fault you are discribing is normaly caused by wrong lock bits being set.

How are you burning the boot loader?
here is my setup :


atmega8.name=ATmega8

atmega8.upload.protocol=stk500
atmega8.upload.maximum_size=7168
atmega8.upload.speed=19200
atmega8.bootloader.low_fuses=0xdf
atmega8.bootloader.high_fuses=0xca
atmega8.bootloader.path=atmega8
atmega8.bootloader.file=ATmegaBOOT.hex
atmega8.bootloader.unlock_bits=0x3F  <---- open for programming bootloader
atmega8.bootloader.lock_bits=0x0F     <---- Lock the area used by the bootloader
atmega8.build.mcu=atmega8
atmega8.build.f_cpu=16000000L
atmega8.build.core=arduino


Hope this helps

Drew.
Logged

Drew.
http://www.uk-pcb.co.uk - My UK Based PCB Fab & Assembly Company
Design work undertaken
SMD & Thru-Hole assembly

Poland
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 58
Newbie
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I use settings from arduino 0022 software. I did not change anything in bootloader settings
Logged

I have solution !
But it involves spherical chickens in frictionless vacuum...

Massachusetts, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 180
Posts: 8081
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The Breadboard Arduino doesn't have an auto-reset circuit.  Are you holding the Reset button until you see the "Binary sketch size:" message?
Logged

Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

Poland
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 58
Newbie
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hmm...nope...
I only use slave reset from ISP-arduino (lead from 10-th pin to first leg of IC )

Burn bootloader dump :
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/35963789/Bootloader.txt

First blink-scheme uploaded without problems... second (on 12-th pin) faill hard...

Data from uploadnig blink sketch without reset button tricks
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/35963789/blink.rtf
« Last Edit: August 11, 2011, 04:34:25 pm by Max89 » Logged

I have solution !
But it involves spherical chickens in frictionless vacuum...

Scotland
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 988
Have you had your Arduino fix today?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Try updating your boards.txt

atmega8.name=ATmega8

atmega8.upload.protocol=stk500
atmega8.upload.maximum_size=7168
atmega8.upload.speed=19200
atmega8.bootloader.low_fuses=0xdf
atmega8.bootloader.high_fuses=0xc8
atmega8.bootloader.path=atmega8
atmega8.bootloader.file=ATmegaBOOT.hex
atmega8.bootloader.unlock_bits=0x3F
atmega8.bootloader.lock_bits=0x0F
atmega8.build.mcu=atmega8
atmega8.build.f_cpu=16000000L
atmega8.build.core=arduino

It updated the bootloader protected area size.
Logged

Drew.
http://www.uk-pcb.co.uk - My UK Based PCB Fab & Assembly Company
Design work undertaken
SMD & Thru-Hole assembly

Poland
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 58
Newbie
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Still same....
Bootloader is burned properly , first upload ok, second fail.
Maybe I try avoid bootloader using hex files ?

Or simply I can't use this arduino as ISP.... http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoISP "Currently, you cannot use an Arduino Uno as an ISP programmer because the optiboot bootloader does not support this sketch. A revision for this is in progress"
« Last Edit: August 13, 2011, 03:43:51 am by Max89 » Logged

I have solution !
But it involves spherical chickens in frictionless vacuum...

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: