Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Wiring a Opto-Isolated Relay to Arduino  (Read 3321 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi, I was wondering if someone could help me interpret the instructions to wire up the following Opto-Isolated Relay (http://arduino-direct.com/sunshop/index.php?l=product_detail&p=156)

NOTES: If you want complete optical isolation, connect "Vcc" to Arduino +5 volts but do NOT connect Arduino Ground.  Remove the Vcc to JD-Vcc jumper. Connect a separate +5 supply to "JD-Vcc" and board Gnd. This will supply power to the transistor drivers and relay coils.

So I understand the first part I connect 5v to the device. The second part has me confused though. I have a 5V wallwart so I connect the +5 to JD-VCC does that mean I connect the neutral off the wallwart to board ground? Or do I just ground that pin to the case?

I'm just a beginner as you can tell so go easy on me if it's a silly question  smiley

Thanks

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Brattain Member
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile

If you want complete isolation,  you will have seperate 5V supplies, one for the Arduino and one for the relay power.

Then you would connect an arduino output pin to the cathode of the drive LED, with VCC to a current limit resistor to that anode.

On the other side, you have pin 1 of the jumper field goes to the pin that goes to Pin 4 of the optoisolator.

If you  only have 1 wallwart, leave the jumper in. Having an optoisolatar and the relay seems like overkill to me. Most applications just drive the transistor to drive the relay.

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

View Profile