Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino Bipolar Stepper Motor Help  (Read 1466 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi every one,i have just bought Sparkfun Inventors kit from Netram in South Africa and i intend to use the Arduino to control the motion of five Bipolar stepper Motors,how can i achieve this because I am new to programmable Electronics.
Any assistance is highly welcome.

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

i intend to use the Arduino to control the motion of five Bipolar stepper Motors
Pretty easy, really. Create 5 instances of the Stepper class, and call step() for the appropriate instance at the appropriate time.

The step() function will toggle the appropriate pins to tell the stepper motor driver to make the stepper motor step.

You do have appropriate stepper motor drivers for your stepper motors, right?

Shannon Member
Arduino rocks
View Profile

What do you intend to do with the steppers - are they to be controlled simultaneously for instance?

[ I won't respond to messages, use the forum please ]

View Profile

What do you intend to do with the steppers - are they to be controlled simultaneously for instance?

We are designing a gantry mechanism and it has five degrees of freedom and each degree of freedom is controlled by a stepper motor.So i have to control five stepper motors simultaneously. 

View Profile

i intend to use the Arduino to control the motion of five Bipolar stepper Motors
Pretty easy, really. Create 5 instances of the Stepper class, and call step() for the appropriate instance at the appropriate time.

The step() function will toggle the appropriate pins to tell the stepper motor driver to make the stepper motor step.

You do have appropriate stepper motor drivers for your stepper motors, right?

I have L297,L298 and L293 but i haven't yet figured out the best driver.

Shannon Member
Arduino rocks
View Profile