Comparison of Arduino Starter kits

I wrote up an article on Arduino Started kits, specifically the ones offered by Adafruit Industries and SparkFun Electronics. I'm interested in a bit of feedback, and if you find anyone who asking this question, point them this way.

Here's the link:

Why only those 2?

There are lots more on the market. Plus those are US based. What about European consumers?

Is this news or is it better in Hardware->Development?

Why only those 2?

There are lots more on the market. Plus those are US based. What about European consumers?

Those were the two that I stumbled across yesterday as I was writing. I'd like to expand the list. Do you have suggestions on other kits I should write about?

thanks for the input!

Sircastor,

This is a badly needed article - good stuff. I would suggest the following improvements:

1. Put a summary at the top for the absolute noob. One sentence only. It may sound strange, but a total newbie is not going to understand or even read the down to the bottom. A one sentence: "If you are a total noob, buy xxx" is useful. Newbies just want you to make a decision for them, which is a completely reasonable request. The rest can come later.

2. You have just compared the kits, but the on-line instructions, support and what a newbie using a "follow these steps" approach can do with one is equally important. Have you considered evaluating them for on-line instructions as well? (When I was a newbie, I chose Adafruit's for this reason).

3. People who come to your page may be inspired to buy a kit. How about a paragraph on "OK, I bought the kit. Now what." Include some links too, if you feel up to it. (As a pre-purchase newbie I found the arduino site pretty confusing, and ended up at Adafruit's as often as not, because stuff seemed to be laid out better.) I know this stuff is available elsewhere, but yours might be the site the person comes to.