Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11] 12 13   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino Eclipse Plugin <Update>  (Read 66790 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Belgium
Online Online
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi
As you are on mac. Have you read this article? http://robots.dacloughb.com/project-1/setting-up-the-arduino-eclipse-environment-on-mac-os-x-lion/

I see you are configuring some things you should not configure. Have you been reading the documentation on www.baeyens.it/eclipse?
If this doesn't help you to fix the problem. Please read the troubleshooting section in the FAQ http://www.baeyens.it/eclipse/Arduino%20eclipse%20plugin%20FAQ.htm#doesntwork and post the console output.

Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks so much for the reply! I really appreciate your helpfulness. It works now. I did a fresh install of the Arduino IDE, Eclipse and the plugin.  smiley
Logged

Belgium
Online Online
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Glad to hear it works.
Have fun with it.
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Germany
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is it possible to use your plugin with Eclipse Juno? I updated my machine to Fedora 17 Beefy Miracle yesterday and realized it shipped Juno.

I was able to install your plugin but when I try to create a new project, on the page where you enter your Arduino data like type or  serial port everything is grayed out and you cannot finish.
When I open an existing project and hit the "Build Project" button, an error message pops out.
Also, the upload button is missing.

Any chance for an update?
Logged

Belgium
Online Online
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Juno is not jet officially released.
I want first to release a version that includes a serial monitor (nearly finished)
Then I'll probably look at juno support when doing other things.
If there is really a incompatibility with Juno, I do not expect to have a compatible release before August.
You can easily install the indigo next to the juno. So I see no reason to hurry.
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Germany
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK, did not expect Fedora to be *that* bleeding edge. smiley-razz
I'll have a try with a parallel installation of the other Indigo release. If that does not work I'll have to stick with Verne on my notebook, despite the severe graphics incopatibilities with my notebook which are fixed in Beefy Miracle...
Thanks for your information!
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've run into another problem while installing the plugin that I'm hoping you can help with. The symptom I am seeing now is that when I try to upload to the board I get the message: "Serial port ____ already in use. Try quitting any programs that may be using it"

This occurs even if I have recently rebooted and there are no other programs running. After I dismiss the error message dialogue box, it appears to upload properly and I get the following output from avrdude:

Code:
Launching /Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -patmega328p -carduino -P/dev/tty.usbmodemfa131 -b115200 -Uflash:w:test.hex:a -C/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf
Output:

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e950f
avrdude: NOTE: FLASH memory has been specified, an erase cycle will be performed
         To disable this feature, specify the -D option.
avrdude: erasing chip
avrdude: reading input file "test.hex"
avrdude: input file test.hex auto detected as Intel Hex
avrdude: writing flash (466 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 0.08s

avrdude: 466 bytes of flash written
avrdude: verifying flash memory against test.hex:
avrdude: load data flash data from input file test.hex:
avrdude: input file test.hex auto detected as Intel Hex
avrdude: input file test.hex contains 466 bytes
avrdude: reading on-chip flash data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.06s

avrdude: verifying ...
avrdude: 466 bytes of flash verified

avrdude done.  Thank you.

avrdude finished

No errors, however by the behavior of the board, it's clear that it was not properly programmed. Here is the output from the Eclipse Error Log:

Code:
Failed to handle Com port properly
Serial port /dev/tty.usbmodemfa131 already in use. Try quiting any programs that may be using it
Serial port /dev/tty.usbmodemfa131 already in use. Try quiting any programs that may be using it

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!
« Last Edit: June 11, 2012, 06:04:57 pm by brownerthanu » Logged

Belgium
Online Online
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi
I have never seen this problem before. It looks like the plugin can launch the rxtx dll but fails to open the com port.
Avrdude which uses his own rxtx code succeeds in opening the port.
Basically this means that the plugin can not reset arduino before upload. As most boards are reset by avrdude now this is less of a problem.
It also means that in the latest version you won't be able to use the serial monitor; which may be a bigger problem.

A question: when you select the board and com port; are the com ports of your system listed?

Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I don't know what the problem was exactly, but I got it working by reinstalling. Actually, I think it might have been user error. I think it's likely that I had not re-compiled the current project and was successfully uploading and older version. Thanks a lot for your help!
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 3
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi

I've been unable to get the Eclipse plug-in to work with the Ethernet WebClient example in Arduino 1.01.  Is there a trick to adding libraries that I might be missing?

So far, I copy the Ethernet WebClient example directly to Eclipse and I do not include the SPI.h and Ethernet.h headers in the .cpp file.  I put the headers into the .h file for the project.  I then import the SPI and Ethernet libraries into the project.  I then try to compile the example and I am unable to do so.

Thanks for any help,
Logged

Belgium
Online Online
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

have you followed the instructions on http://eclipse.baeyens.it/UsethePlugin.html
Note that the new version has a better import option. See the video linked to at the bottom of http://eclipse.baeyens.it/
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Germany
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 13
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Juno is not jet officially released.
I want first to release a version that includes a serial monitor (nearly finished)
Then I'll probably look at juno support when doing other things.
If there is really a incompatibility with Juno, I do not expect to have a compatible release before August.

I'm also interested in updating from Indigo to Juno.
It would be very nice if you could give a hint when it's safe to switch to Juno.
Since your plugin has become so essential...

And perhaps: Is there a way to upgrade without installing everytime again from scratch?
Logged

Belgium
Online Online
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

ghps
I'm also interested in updating from Indigo to Juno.
Can you tell me what would make your life more interesting with Indigo? I ask because I havn' had time to look into Juno

It would be very nice if you could give a hint when it's safe to switch to Juno.
I'm a bit overloaded right now. I'm expecting to be able to work on it starting august.  I plan first to make a version which works with Leornardo (I found out today it doesn't work and it seems easy to fix)

Since your plugin has become so essential...
Thanks for the compliment.

And perhaps: Is there a way to upgrade without installing everytime again from scratch?
I do not quite understand this remark. What do you mean with installing from scratch?
Normally the upgrade and installation goes quite easy. Someone who works with eclipse regularly and has done it before can do it in less than 10 minutes.
As this is an new eclipse it is a bit more work but you should be able to reuse your workspaces which means you only need to install Juno c++ version and the plugin and open your workspace an off you go.

Please let me know:
Why Juno?
What is time consuming to you when upgrading the plugin.

Best regards
Jan


PS Switching to juno for me is lots more work as I also need the java development environment and the eclipse and CDT development environment and I need to keep both environments up to date for bugfixing.

Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Auckland, NZ
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Jantje,

I tried the Eclipse AVR plugin and ran into problems, then spotted yours. It installed and compiled cleanly for me. So all good so far, thanks.

However my target platform is ATTiny85 (and also Teensy but that isn't my immediate focus). I found the option to specify the board under Arduino->Arduino,
and there is also an option to specify the Target Hardware. The two options don't match, ie the list under 'board' is quite small (and doesn't include ATTiny).
The list under Target Hardware/MCU Type seems to be derived from the conf file in my Arduino dir.

Can we have some explanation of just how the 'board' and the 'MCU Type' are used? I guess they end up as compiler options?

Thanks
Roger
Logged

Belgium
Online Online
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Roger
My plugin is based on the AVR plugin. My plugin started as a layer on top of the AVR plugin. So strongly simplified my plugin reads the boards.txt from arduino and sets the AVR plugin settings accordingly.
Next to that it also sets lots of "default" settings for Arduino and it adss -more and more- .

On ATTiny85 and Teensy read the following 2 faq (note I used WINAVR but I mean AVR plugin)
http://eclipse.baeyens.it/Arduino%20eclipse%20plugin%20FAQ.htm#WINAVR
http://eclipse.baeyens.it/Arduino%20eclipse%20plugin%20FAQ.htm#2Locations

Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11] 12 13   Go Up
Jump to: