Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: switches and sounds  (Read 512 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Everyone - I'm a complete newbie at all this, so I apologize in advance if this doesn't make any sense. I have an Arduino UNO, and I'm just trying to determine if what I want to accomplish is possible using it, or anything else for that matter.

I'm building a weird interactive music box as a gift for a friend. The box has an iPod dock that is connected to a Class-T digital amp that is of course connected to the speakers.

The box has five lights - 12 volt auto bulbs - each of which are connected to a corresponding pushbutton on/off switch. These are the switches I'm using, if it's helpful - http://tinyurl.com/42j9os4 

All of the lights go through one master dimmer, and there is also a 12V DC motor that rotates a disc that is connected to a speed controller.  The whole box is powered with a Pyramid 20A power supply.

So, here's what I want to do - I want to somehow make it so when a light switch is turned on, a specific corresponding note plays through the speakers. Imagine a five note-scale - Do-Re-Mi-Fa-So. Switch #1, while also turning the corresponding light on would somehow trigger the "Do" sound to play through the speakers. Switch #2 would play Re, and so on.  And these sounds should only play once when the switch is turned ON, and the sound itself should only last a few seconds.

The only thought I had is that I could somehow connect the switches to an Arduino board that had stored sound files. But since I am brand new to the world of Arduino, I have no idea how I could send that message from a standard electrical switch to the board, or how the individual switches could be differentiated.  Assuming all that could happen, I would also need to figure out how to have the Arduino send the correct sound file to the speakers - though that last part is probably the least of my problems.