Which Xbee???

Hello, all -

I've been looking at the Xbee brochures for some time and I wanted to run my situation by those with more experience to make sure I'm on the right track.

I've got a 2.4Ghz RC plane and am interested in putting things like a battery meter, camera (still), etc. in the plane with some type of wireless platform to transmit data in (at least close to) real time.

I see that the XBee-Pro ZB has a 2-mile range (under the MOST optimal LOS conditions, I'm sure - but a good spec noetheless) and is on a through-hole PBC. The antenna configuration seems perfect as well as it will accommodate the ground clearance.

This all sounds fine and dandy on paper but I wanted to make sure there wasn't more to it than that. Should I be concerned about having two 2,4Ghz systems so close? I'm not a professional in the wireless area but I understand that because it's digital it doesn't matter (to an extent) as both systems will have a sort of identifier for all transmissions. Also, I know that electric motors have a tendency to make some pretty weird things happen to the electronics around them with all of the magnetism and current. Obviously this is no issue for the plane's receiver but I'm wondering if that's just because the system is made to accommodate the proximity to the motor or if it's simply not an issue?

Lastly - let's say I have my Duemilanove and a bootloaded (word?) atmega328 with the proper cyrstal, caps, power system, etc. Is there any additional hardware I'll need to create the network other than the XBees?

Thanks a lot!

I see that the XBee-Pro ZB has a 2-mile range (under the MOST optimal LOS conditions, I'm sure - but a good spec noetheless) and is on a through-hole PBC.

Do you have a link to this XBee with through hole PCB? Most XBees (all that I've ever seen) have a bunch of pins with non-standard spacing (at least non-breadboard standard) and no through holes.