Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Multidimensional query  (Read 514 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi folks,

Relative Newbie here. I have some device designs I'm in the process of realizing, and in the process of edumacating myself, I seem to come up with more questions than answers as I go. With the help of friends, I have learned a considerable amount over the course of the last year, but there's considerably more to learn before I can realize even the first of my designs.

Q1 : Is it not typical or even possible with Arduino to have an object oriented firmware ? Processing seems to be the default sketch language within the Arduino world, and seems procedural and not OOP. I would Love to hear common directions people take their projects in regarding firmware authoring. I'm experimenting, but at embryonic levels.

Q2 : My first project utilizes 16 RGB LEDs, 48 single color LEDs, 64 buttons, an LCD Display, digital pot, and a data slider. I am looking at using Schmartboard for 2 STP24DP05 surface mount LED drivers for the RGB LEDs, and two more for the remainder of the LEDs. I understand they incorporate the Shift Registers as well as the LED drivers, so they seem ideal for my purposes. My intent is to daisy-chain them together. Unfortunately, I don't know what influence the frequency of 30MHz has over the circuit design. Does it matter in the firmware ?

Q3 : For the buttons, the SR's I intend to use are SN74HC165N's, but I believe 74F151's have been mentioned as well. I do not know the reasons I would choose one over the other. Again, I would daisy-chain them to get the full 64 button assignments. Care to inform and influence my decision one way or the other ?

There are so many areas in which I have not yet boldly gone. I have a definite idea of the interface (mostly buttons and LEDs), but how can it all work at the same time in a procedural setting (as opposed to OOP) ?

I'm listening and learning,
GDR