Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: DIY Ethernet shield (W5100)  (Read 5977 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Moscow
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 31
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've made an Ethernet shield compatible with the official one on
through-hole components. Works well just like the original E.shield.
Schematics are similar to the official one, but I have 47nf cap
on RST line to avoid the reset problem with W5100.

I've started this project in January 2011 but due to long delays with
PCB manufacturing and other business it reached the real product stage
just now. This was big fun, I had to study datasheets and prior
designs (like Wiznet's reference schematics, Ethernet shields from
Arduino and Freetronics) and learn about PCB routing.

Apart from PCB, total parts cost is about $12 ($6-7 for the IC, $2 for
the pimped RJ-45, the rest is about $3). PCB cost is about $7-10 on
small runs. So total cost is about $20.

Once you solder the 0.4mm-spaced LQFP chip smiley-evil (which was a minor pain
even with my burnt to crisp $5 noname iron), the rest of the board is very
easy to assemble even for novice hackers without pro soldering
tools/skills.

I used gEDA suite to produce board schematics and layout, which
required little of custom symbols to be made. I've attached the
schematics image.

A number of problems became evident as soon as I completed my first
assembly.
Things which would make the board better include lower crystal,
regulator leads leaned, bigger holes for ferrite beads and LED silk marks.
There's an updated design which adds SEN=!SCS invertor and merges
grounds, layout has been redone from scratch; I haven't manufactured
any of these.


* w5100-sch.png (80.94 KB, 1600x1200 - viewed 128 times.)

* w5100-fab1.png (26.56 KB, 625x808 - viewed 98 times.)

* w5100-new-sch.png (100.5 KB, 1600x1200 - viewed 85 times.)

* w5100-new.png (27.53 KB, 649x826 - viewed 65 times.)
« Last Edit: September 09, 2011, 10:33:06 am by Bojes » Logged

Moscow
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 31
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Such cases.


* DSCN0106.JPG (399.21 KB, 1820x1537 - viewed 156 times.)

* DSCN0107.JPG (489.77 KB, 1863x1596 - viewed 79 times.)

* DSCN0104.JPG (143.15 KB, 1815x1361 - viewed 47 times.)

* DSCN0102.JPG (456.34 KB, 1944x2592 - viewed 100 times.)
Logged

Newcastle, UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 239
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Bojes, congratulations on getting your board built. It looks a nice and easy board to build
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well done! did you tested it with arduino?
Logged

Moscow
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 31
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes, it completely compatible with the official Ethernet library.
Logged

Moscow
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 31
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Speaking of hardware, it's completely compatible with Arduino as well. I just plugged it in and it all worked out of the box.
I'm doing a home sensor network project and W5100 board will be used on central node which gathers data from other sensors.
I use cheap ISM 433 MHz modules and VirtualWire to transmit data.

DS18S20-based temperature sensor prototype setup residing on my balcony is shown on the photo.
Another Arduino with W5100 is installed in another room and shows latest data received from the sensor
when I access it from my local network using laptop with wifi.


* DSCN0118.jpeg (149.87 KB, 1600x1200 - viewed 79 times.)
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Pretty good job, but the WIZ chip seems impossible to solder properly for me, so I think i'll buy an original one hehe.

Greetz.

EDIT: could you please share with us the components list?
« Last Edit: December 12, 2011, 08:41:07 am by ikaros » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
****
Karma: 162
Posts: 10523
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

yes, it needs a toaster oven I reckon!
Logged

[ I won't respond to messages, use the forum please ]

Moscow
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 31
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Parts list to first version:
Code:
| refdes            | device               | quantity | value        | footprint                              |
| CONN1             | 13F-64               |        1 | unknown      | 13F-6X-par                             |
| C1 C2 C3 C6 C7 C9 | CAPACITOR            |        6 | 100n         | ACY-25                                 |
| C4 C5             | CAPACITOR            |        2 | 18n          | ACY-25                                 |
| C11               | CAPACITOR            |        1 | 47n          | ACY-25                                 |
| CONN4 CONN5       | CONNECTOR_6          |        2 | unknown      | CONNECTOR 6 1                          |
| CONN2 CONN3       | CONNECTOR_8          |        2 | unknown      | CONNECTOR 8 1                          |
| X1                | CRYSTAL              |        1 | 25M          | HC49                                   |
| FB1 FB2           | ferrite_bead         |        2 | BL01RN1A1D2B | RES-600P-340L-190D__Yageo-M-TYPE-12.fp |
| J1                | JUMPER               |        1 | unknown      | CONNECTOR 2 1                          |
| D1 D2 D3 D4 D5 D6 | LED                  |        6 | unknown      | LED3                                   |
| U1                | MC33269              |        1 | unknown      | TO220W                                 |
| RN1               | NR1-4-9              |        1 | 1K           | NR1-4-9                                |
| C12 C13           | POLARIZED_CAPACITOR  |        2 | 100u         | RCY100                                 |
| C10 C8            | POLARIZED_CAPACITOR  |        2 | 10u          | RCY100                                 |
| R8                | RESISTOR             |        1 | 10K          | 0.125W_Carbon_Resistor                 |
| R6                | RESISTOR             |        1 | 12K 1%       | 0.125W_Carbon_Resistor                 |
| R11 R12 R9        | RESISTOR             |        3 | 1K           | 0.125W_Carbon_Resistor                 |
| R5                | RESISTOR             |        1 | 1M           | 0.125W_Carbon_Resistor                 |
| R7                | RESISTOR             |        1 | 300 1%       | 0.125W_Carbon_Resistor                 |
| R1 R2 R3 R4       | RESISTOR             |        4 | 49.9         | 0.125W_Carbon_Resistor                 |
| S1                | SWITCH_PUSHBUTTON_NC |        1 | unknown      | SW__Panasonic_EVQPA_Series             |
| U2                | W5100                |        1 | unknown      | LQFP_40P_1300L1_1300L2_80N__WIZnet     |

Logged

Moscow
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 31
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Second revision is still under construction
(I hope to get PCB's manufactured by summer).

A better main board with SD card, DS1307 and slots for radio modules
(RFM23 and simple ASK TX/RX modules) is in the works too, picrelated.

I'm doing this for yet another house automation system.

I'll post schematics and gerbers when it's done.
PM me if you would be interested in kits.


* homebudino.pcb-.png (83.82 KB, 1322x2007 - viewed 58 times.)
Logged

Grand Blanc, MI, USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 71
Posts: 3540
CODE is a mass noun and should not be used in the plural or with an indefinite article.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Nice work! What is the reset problem with the W5100 you mentioned? I have an "official" Arduino Ethernet shield and haven't had any reset issues that I'm aware of.
Logged

MCP79411/12 RTC ... "One Million Ohms" ATtiny kit ... available at http://www.tindie.com/stores/JChristensen/

Moscow
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 31
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It was present on older revisions of official ethernet shield.
The problem is that Wiznet chip required long 0 signal on reset line
to start properly. The workaround (also used in Freetronics shield)
is to add a small capacitor on reset line.
The problem was resolved in later versions of shield (v5 and v6)
when they added STM811 controller to handle reset.
Logged

Grand Blanc, MI, USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 71
Posts: 3540
CODE is a mass noun and should not be used in the plural or with an indefinite article.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The problem was resolved in later versions of shield (v5 and v6)
when they added STM811 controller to handle reset.

Ah, that explains it. Pretty sure I have one with the reset controller. I've also been using some WIZ811MJ modules, and using a separate MCU pin to reset them.
Logged

MCP79411/12 RTC ... "One Million Ohms" ATtiny kit ... available at http://www.tindie.com/stores/JChristensen/

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: