Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Help needed for 7 Segment LED and 74hc595 shift register countdown project  (Read 2082 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm new to electronics and Arduino and trying to learn by doing.  So I'm attempting a 7 segment LED and 74hc595 shift register countdown project from this site:  http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=2510&sid=599a5294b4867515cd71e2d1952d193c using the code below.   I'm using a 4 digit 7 segment display (http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?R=HDSP-B03Evirtualkey63050000virtualkey630-HDSP-B03E) but I think I messed up the pin connections from the shift registers to the LED.  Instead of a countdown I get two dashes, then two E's, and then a succession of other nonsense.    According to the LED datasheet pin 1 is for E, 2 for D, 3 for DP, 4 for C, 5 for G, 7 for B, 10 for F, and 11 for A.  I can provide more info if needed.  Any help troubleshooting this would be greatly appreciated. 

Code:
/*
Using 2 7-segment displays with the 74HC595 shift registers
CC by-sa-nc 3.0
http://tronixstuff.wordpress.com
*/
int latchpin = 8; // connect to pin 12 on the '595
int clockpin = 12; // connect to pin 11 on the '595
int datapin = 11; // connect to pin 14 on the '595
float b = 0;
int c = 0;
float d = 0;
int e = 0;
int speed = 300; // used to control speed of counting
int segdisp[10] = {
3,159,37,13,153,73,65,27,1,9 };
void setup()
{
pinMode(latchpin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(clockpin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(datapin, OUTPUT);
}
void loop()
{
//  Count up
for (int z=0; z<100; z++)
{
   digitalWrite(latchpin, LOW);
   shiftOut(datapin, clockpin, LSBFIRST, 0); // clears the right display
   shiftOut(datapin, clockpin, LSBFIRST, 0); // clears the left display
   digitalWrite(latchpin, HIGH);
   if (z<10)
   {
     shiftOut(datapin, clockpin, LSBFIRST, segdisp[z]); // sends the digit down the serial path