Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down
Author Topic: Project for monitoring battery string  (Read 6898 times)
Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Brattain Member
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The uniqueness of either sounds good.
I suppose the master would need some way to map out which board was in which position in the string.
Any thoughts there?
Querying 2^48 addresses could take a while, and I think only be done when there was a configuration change - but how would an an address get tied to a position in the string?

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

USA
I’m no expert, but I play one on the Internet…
View Profile

The 1-Wire protocol takes care of enumerating devices on the bus, then you can address the devices individually. On the mapping I'm thinking if the destination is PC/Server then the software could handle it. For a stand alone system then maybe storing the IDs in the Arduino EEPROM memory (not sure of the space) or adding an off board (I2C) EEPROM... Your would of course need some interface to do the mapping LCD etc...

willnue

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Brattain Member
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile

Looks like there is still a free pin on the ATTiny. Guess a button for push to ID could be added also, pin can be an input to read the switch, then an output to show when board is recognized by the master controller.
inexpensive switch here
http://www.surplussales.com/Switches/SWPushB-3.html
« Last Edit: October 19, 2011, 12:19:50 am by CrossRoads » Logged