Go Down

Topic: Hoping to start a project, could someone advise on the feasibility? (Read 905 times) previous topic - next topic

schneff

Okay, I've wanted to try something with an arduino for a long time but never had an idea that I felt was worth trying. 

I was thinking of attempting to create a suit rigged with LEDs, which would light up according to a song.  From looking at some posts from others that seems like a possibility.  I suppose I should delve into specifics that may throw my plans.  Since this is clearly to be worn out on halloween, it would need to be mobile somehow.  Is it possible to output from a phone to the arduino?  I would also need a powersource for the arduino itself unless it can take USB power.  I would need to figure out a way to sync up the song with the preprogrammed lights.

Maybe I'm undertaking too much for a first project but I'm not sure.  I'm not good at soldering, if that's necessary.  But, I know a bit about programming.  I understand the logic of how to get that part done, it'll just be finding the right code for the job that'll be the work there.

So, is this possible?  and if so, what model should I be ordering?

justjed

Most Arduino boards can take power from USB. But there are those which don't. Have you looked at the hardware page?

How many LEDs?

Have you browsed in the LEDs and multiplexing subforum?

Have you defined how it is you want your LEDs to behave with respect to the audio?
... it is poor civic hygiene to install technologies that could someday
facilitate a police state. -- Bruce Schneier

schneff