Go Down

Topic: Music to vibration (Read 971 times) previous topic - next topic

kakotes

Hello,

I'm new to Arduino and I am currently trying to make a device that turns music from an mp3 player into vibrations (using small vibrating motors, about 5 of them, one for each frequency range), according to the different frequency ranges and their intensities (kinda like a spectrum analyzer, but with fewer frequency ranges). I've already connected an mp3 player to the arduino using the following circuit to get a ~2.5 V DC offset:
                        + 5V
                           |
                           <
                           > 10k
                           <
             220 uF     |
mp3-------) |---------------- Arduino A0
                           |
                           <
                           > 10k
                           <
                           |
                         Gnd

My questions are:
1. On the 0-1023 input range, the values go from around 490 to 530. Should I amplify the signal before feeding it to the arduino? If so, what circuit do you recommend?
2. How would I implement an FFT algorithm to get the intensity of each frequency range? I already tried elmchan's fft library but I can't get it to work.
3. I'm thinking about using PWM to control the vibration motors. Is this a good idea?

Thanks in advance!

winner10920

If you are not against adding an ic, look into msgeq7
I haven't gotten to play with one, still shipping but it is basically a spectrum analyzer that outputs a multiplexed voltage for 7 channels of frequency
I think it would simplify your project to have an ic do all the hard work, you would just poll it for data and read that
like say use just 5  channels control 5 vibrator circuits directly, if pwm does work then map the analog 0/1023 to 0/255 for a simple solution