Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino, LCD and Serial connection to Sony Ericsson Phone  (Read 1028 times)
South-East UK
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi folks,

I dug out an old SE T630 phone I had in a drawer and shoved a pre-pay SIM in and have it successfully working using AT commands through serial.

Now what I want is for the Arduino to "parse" the incoming messages.  For example, display them on my (20x4 parallel) LCD. Or do something else when it recognises a certain string.

I am a C / programming noob and have built up most of my Arduino code thus far by googling and looking at the Arduino.cc resources, so this challenge came as, well, a bit of a challenge!

I have finally found an example sketch online which seems to do most of what I want, i.e. read serial output and shove it to the LCD.

From here: http://www.midnightcheese.com/2011/10/displaying-twitter-and-weather-on-your-arduino-lcd-screen/

I have this, thus far:

Code:
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
#include <wstring.h>

// initialize the library with the numbers of the interface pins
LiquidCrystal lcd(4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9);

void setup() {
   lcd.begin(4, 20);       // Set the LCD's number of rows and columns
  Serial.begin(9600);     // Initialize communication with serial(USB) port.
  lcd.print("Hello.");    // Print welcome message to LCD.

}

int bufferArray[250];     // Our array to store characters arriving from serial port.
int output = 0;
int i = 0;

void loop() {

int count = Serial.available();

if (Serial.available() > -1) {
    delay(1000);
    for (i=0; i<count ; i++) {
     bufferArray[i] = Serial.read();          // Put into array
     output = 1;                              // Show new data has been recieved
    }
  }

if (output != 0) {                          // If new bytes have been recieved                
    int position = 0;
    if (bufferArray[0] == '!') {              // Print on first line if message begins with '!'
      lcd.clear();