Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: MaxSerial - MAX232 based serial board  (Read 2019 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 205
Don't Panic
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I finished these off last night, and I must say, I'm very impressed with the reliability of the Max232 based connection; it is on par with the FTDI/USB connection on my Diecimila board and the iDuino (and every other FT232 based board). Gone is the questionable reliability of the transistor-based connection.



The boards are based off the Freeduino PTH layout and include all the usual Diecimila-style goodies like auto-reset and a (optional) 3.3V regulated output. Obviously the layout is compatible with shields.

The directions have many more details including a BOM, assembly instructions, and board/schematic sources.

I'm pleased to be able to offer these as kits, assembled, and bare pcbs.

These are bourne out of being fed-up with transistor serial boards; so comments, questions, whatever...
Logged

iDuino - MaxSerial - [url=http://spi

Shrewsbury, MA
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 2
Posts: 89
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Looks awesome.  For most of my projects USB is more convenient, but if I ever want a serial connection I'll probably get one of these.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 56
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

great board, any chance that this can be done a singe side board for home etching?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 205
Don't Panic
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You may have better luck than me, but I couldn't fit the MAX232 and associated bits into the footprint of even the much larger SS-Serial board. Even double sided the board still has a few vias.

If you can fit it onto a reasonably sized single sided board, I'd love to hear, otherwise, I sell just the bare board for exactly this reason. If you'd like a starting point, the board/schematic are available at the end of the directions.
Logged

iDuino - MaxSerial - [url=http://spi

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 21
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Your directions are very detailed, thanks! Do you know a cheap source for the MAX232 or equivalent? The RoHS compliant replacement for it is called MAX232CPE+ but costs ~ £25 here in the UK...
Logged

London
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 8
Posts: 6240
Have fun!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Your directions are very detailed, thanks! Do you know a cheap source for the MAX232 or equivalent? The RoHS compliant replacement for it is called MAX232CPE+ but costs ~ £25 here in the UK...
Maplin has it for £2.28

http://www.maplin.co.uk/search.aspx?MenuNo=12487&MenuName=RS232%2f233%2f422&worldid=-2&FromMenu=y&doy=search

or you can get the MAX232CN for £1 from here: http://www.cricklewoodelectronics.com/Cricklewood/product.php?productid=11938&cat=0&page=1
« Last Edit: April 15, 2008, 11:01:00 am by mem » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 205
Don't Panic
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Your directions are very detailed, thanks! Do you know a cheap source for the MAX232 or equivalent? The RoHS compliant replacement for it is called MAX232CPE+ but costs ~ £25 here in the UK...
If your ordering a serial board anyway (or even if your not), I carry MAX232 clones (DS14C232CN) for 90¢ (about £0.45).
Logged

iDuino - MaxSerial - [url=http://spi

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 227
Intransigent prototyper
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I just posted this one at http://www.freeduino.org/buy.html. If anyone has other Freeduino products they'd like to see on that page, drop me a line.

D
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi

I am sorry ,but I didn`t understand why all grounded point leaved without any ground connection,should I add a ground plane to the board.

I maked freeduino v 1.2 and after that I noticed that grounded points has not any ground connection ,so I redesigned it,but want to know what was the designer porpuse to leave all grounded points lonely.

Ray
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 4
Posts: 218
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I see it is marked 5V and 9V  . I dont have eagle to look Is  this able to feed 9V into jumper marked so and is this put back through 5V reg first? How does power in work that way?
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 03:24:28 pm by april.steel » Logged

Rural Arizona
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 7
Posts: 1711
Incorrigible tinkerer
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The "9V" pin is connected to the cathode of the power input protection diode.  So it's not exactly the same as connecting to the power jack,  but you can use it to feed unregulated power to the 5V regulator input.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 4
Posts: 218
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So it does feed to the 5Vregulator then . It is not feed 9V to the chip?
Logged

Rural Arizona
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 7
Posts: 1711
Incorrigible tinkerer
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
It is not feed 9V to the chip?

Its feeds 9V to the regulator chip.  The MAX232 and ATMega CPU are powered by the regulated 5V.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2010, 12:35:55 am by RanTalbott » Logged

Left Coast, CA (USA)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 331
Posts: 16518
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
So it does feed to the 5Vregulator then . It is not feed 9V to the chip?

 It can be used two ways. If there is an extenal voltage source plugged into the external power connector, then the Vin pin can output that same external voltage (minus one diode voltage drop) and be used to power things that require the higher voltage avalible from an external power source, there is a 1 amp limit based on the series voltage polarity protection diode.

If there is nothing plugged into the external power connector then the Vin pin can be used to input a voltage that only goes to the input of the on board +5vdc voltage regulator.

Lefty
« Last Edit: February 04, 2010, 08:25:08 am by retrolefty » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi

I am sorry ,but I didn`t understand why all grounded point leaved without any ground connection,should I add a ground plane to the board.

I maked freeduino v 1.2 and after that I noticed that grounded points has not any ground connection ,so I redesigned it,but want to know what was the designer porpuse to leave all grounded points lonely.

Ray  
  
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: