Go Down

Topic: Help! Vibrating a cloth with servo (Read 586 times) previous topic - next topic

InteRactiv

Nov 12, 2011, 01:51 pm Last Edit: Nov 12, 2011, 01:58 pm by InteRactiv Reason: 1
Hello, I am fairly new to arduino and I would really appreciate some help on my project.

I want to make a piece of cloth vibrate at different frequencies, generating various wavy patterns. The attached file is an image showing my approach. I am thinking to attach the edges of a piece of cloth to 4 servos or motors with some steel rods. Could you help me figuring out with kind of motors would be most appropriate (servo, dc motor or stepper motor)?
The idea is to use a piezo sensor to detect the amount of vibration on the platform. Can the various vibration levels detected with the piezo sensor control the rotation speed of the motor/servo?

Grumpy_Mike

Well as a servo and stepping motor will not work fast enough that only leaves you with a DC motor and some sort of mechanical mechanism to turn rotary motion into reciprocal motion.

cr0sh

What would probably be ideal for this kind of application would be a linear motor with some kind of positional feedback (optical, most likely):

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linear_motor

Unfortunately, I've never found a source for linear motors where they didn't cost a fortune for any appreciable stroke length.

You might be able to do something with a DC motor connected fairly directly to a rack and pinion system; basically a form of a linear actuator, but without the gearing down that is common for those devices. I would think it would have to be fairly precision designed to keep it mostly quiet and long running (likely using well lubricated nylon or other plastic gearing).

Another possibility (hinted at by Grumpy_Mike) would be a to use a scotch yoke or other crank mechanism; the only problem there is that at the top and bottom of the stroke, there is non-linearities involved; I'm not sure if in your application it will matter, though.