Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 32   Go Down
Author Topic: Windows/Linux/Mac Eclipse plugin to compile and upload arduino sketches  (Read 109194 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

And1G
My plugin is based on the AVR plugin.
It basically puts a layer on top of the AVR plugin to make life easy for arduino people (preconfigure the whole setup, deliver a empty sketch, add import a library, reset the device before upload, in the new to come version a serial monitor).
If you use the AVR plugin directly (via my plugin or by instaling the native product) you can program the dragon.
See AVR plugin for more info http://avr-eclipse.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/The_AVR_Eclipse_Plugin

Note that I forked the code so there are differences between my delivered AVR plugin and the original version.

Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Germany
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks, I have now managed to use the Dragon and it is working.
But is it possible to create a standard AVR proje t with your plugin like in the normal AVR Eclipse? For some small Projects, Arduino is just bloat but I'd really like to stick with your plugin as the Arduino integration is a really nice feature...
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

And1G
Thanks, I have now managed to use the Dragon and it is working.
Nice to hear it.

But is it possible to create a standard AVR proje t with your plugin like in the normal AVR Eclipse? For some small Projects, Arduino is just bloat but I'd really like to stick with your plugin as the Arduino integration is a really nice feature...
It probably is but it is not supported functionality

Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi
I released now Version 1.2.2 of the Arduino eclipse plugin
It has 3 new features.
1) The plugin contains a serial monitor. Currently the only documentation I made on the serial monitor is this video http://eclipse.baeyens.it/serial_demo.wmv
2) You can specify a location for your "personal libraries"
3) The plugin now allows for multiple libraries to be added at once. It lists the personal and the Arduino Libraries in a multiple select list.
The old import still exists but it is better to use the new import.

Please tell me what you think of the new features.
If you are not running on windows 7 tell me whether it works or not.

Best regards
Janje

PS All code has been released to github and is fully open.
PPS The video didn't quite work all the time as planned. I kept it this way not because I'm lazy but because this way you can learn from my mistakes  smiley-cool
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 22
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I look forward to trying this out at home tonight.  I watched the video, and it looks very useful :-)
PeterO
Logged

Germany
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 13
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi
I released now Version 1.2.2 of the Arduino eclipse plugin

Anyone who ever tried to setup Eclipse on his own (or with the help of various online descriptions) will see how great this plugin is. It reduces the (in most cases fruitless) work of hours to a 5-minute-task with a few clicks. After using it for a few weeks now the plugin has become indispensable for me and I can say that it does the job without any flaws. Libs, different boards, git? No problem! And even serial monitor now...

Two aspects, however, are missing on the projects main page:
  • Your paypal account.
  • A hint how to easily update from previous versions.
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Anyone who ever tried to setup Eclipse on his own (or with the help of various online descriptions) will see how great this plugin is. It reduces the (in most cases fruitless) work of hours to a 5-minute-task with a few clicks. After using it for a few weeks now the plugin has become indispensable for me and I can say that it does the job without any flaws. Libs, different boards, git? No problem! And even serial monitor now...
Thanks for the appreciation

Two aspects, however, are missing on the projects main page:
  • Your paypal account.
  • A hint how to easily update from previous versions.
ROFL
I've been considering adding a "buy me a beer button" which would mean a paypal donation. I've been reading about it and spent to much time on it. So I didn't do it. Maybe one day. Thanks for bringing this up  smiley-grin
Upgrading from a previous version should be easy. Use the help->check for updates.
After the update has run check the preferences and change them if needed.
Greetings from Belgium
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK,  I am a confused noobie.   I downloaded Eclipse Indigo and installed the plug-in.   I am using Arduino 022.  I created a little test project just like the web pages recommend.   When I try to compile, I get the "method begin could not be resolved"   Some folks have recommended that "extern HardwareSerial Serial;"  must be added to the project's header file.   Other people said the root cause is the plugin or software is not installed correctly.   I rechecked the setup steps and found nothing wrong with my install or configuration.  I tried adding the above extern and it does remove the errors.  A couple of quirks about my system is that I installed everything on an external USB HD.  The system also has other versions of WINAVR installed in the C drive.  The Arduino IDE does run fine though in this setup.

Question:   Should I just include the extern?  Or am I just putting a bandage on a festering wound? 

Thanks.

Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You probably do something wrong.
Look at this movie http://eclipse.baeyens.it/serial_demo.wmv
In this movie I create a project and compile it.
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thank you very much, Jantje.   I followed the steps in the movie and it compiles without "bugs"  now.  I was missing the part about adding the headers to the Indexer list. 

For all other noobies, I highly recommend watching the movie.  It will quickly give you a good tour of working with the Arduino in Eclipse. 

Thanks again.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

FYI,  I seem to be having a problem with the version 1.2.2 of the Plug-In.    That version seems to work for me on Arduino 1.0.  However, I have some stuff on Arduino 022 that I want to use.   When I have 1.2.2 loaded and I try to create a new Project under Arduino 022, I get the following error message. 

"Failed to create arduino core project Arduino_Uno
'CoreArduinoPath/arduino' is not a valid location. The location is relative to undefined workspace path variable 'CoreArduinoPath'. "

If I revert to 1.2.0 of the Plugin, the I can create a new Project in Arduino 022 without an error.   If I upgrade to 1.2.2 Plugin, this project still runs fine.   In 1.2.2,  I can create new Projects without errors as long as I target a device that the Core project already exists on.  That is version 1.2.0 Plugin already created the core files directory in the WorkSpace.   The 1.2.2 problem only occurs for me when I either start a new WorkSpace, or I target a different device that I had not previously used. 
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'll run some tests
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi
I cant reproduce the problem, but I think I know what is going on.
I assume you have a workspace and you change the Arduino location in the preferences between Arduino 1.0.1 and Arduino 22.
If so: This is not at all supported!! The more I think about it the more I feel it cannot be supported at all.
If you want to have Arduino 022 and Arduino 1.0.1 (or any other Arduino IDE version) projects at the same time you need to create multiple workspaces.
In other words. Once you have filled in the Arduino version in the preferences you should not change it anymore.
If this is not your problem please describe what you do to reproduce the problem.
best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I had that same error and for me it occurred because I didn't specify the Private Library Path. After I set the path to any old folder and deleted the auto-created Arduino_Uno project (I guess it's called the core project?) it worked for me.

I have a different problem that relates the serial monitor. I'm working with the current version of Eclipse CDT and 1.2.2 Arduino plugin on OS X Lion. For me there is no Arduino Folder under Window > Show View > Other.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2012, 05:02:50 pm by brownerthanu » Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

brownerthanu
Not having a Arduino folder in the dialog box that pops up after you select windows->Show View-> other  when you have eclipse plugin 1.2.2 is at least weird.
Have you watched the movie? http://eclipse.baeyens.it/serial_demo.wmv
Can you make an image of what you do see?
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 32   Go Up
Jump to: