Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22] 23 24 ... 32   Go Down
Author Topic: Windows/Linux/Mac Eclipse plugin to compile and upload arduino sketches  (Read 106385 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Jantje,

I need to measure the amount of RAM consumed by a particular code on Mega 2560 and Due. Is it possible to measure it using your Eclipse Plugin. I mean is the Printing size shown ... gives the consumed RAM size.
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@Peter
You could provide a sketch with a .S file (I haven't written assembly in 20 years)

@Sohini25
The plugin gives a RAM usage estimate but not for the due (I havn't found a good command yet)
I doubt whether this is a good reason to start using the plugin as you can see the same output with a simple command line action.
In V1 the default behavior provides the info you request. In V2 you have to set the option to overwrite the default Arduino command.
Also note that this info does not take into account the Arduino bootloader.

Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Jantje,

Can you please tell me what command line action to use to check the memory usage.
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

"avr-size" --format=avr --mcu=atmega2560 "sketch.elf"
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I believe this should only work in Linux based OS.

Will this work for Due as well?
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 22
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@Peter
You could provide a sketch with a .S file (I haven't written assembly in 20 years)

Best regards
Jantje

I'll sort out a small example for you....

PeterO
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@Peter
You could provide a sketch with a .S file (I haven't written assembly in 20 years)

Best regards
Jantje

I'll sort out a small example for you....

PeterO

I'm looking forward to it.
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

UK
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 42
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Installation Instructions... Just reinstalled Eclipse to keep Arduino separate from other environments.  Using Eclipse Kepler (Ubuntu 13.04, AMD64), got confused by the installation instructions.  Using .../update site/ found there are two entries: 'Arduino' and 'Uncategorized'.  Following instructions tried to install 1.2.0 and got a heap of error messages.  Looked under 'Uncategorized' and found version 1.2.4 which seems to install OK.
The installation instructions referenced from the home page give different details from the sticky in this topic, and neither work.  It would be very helpful if they could be changed to reflect what one actually has to do, or .../update site/ be changed to match the instructions.
Which is not to detract from my admiration for a fine piece of technology: thank you Jantje.
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

hamiljf
I read your post a couple of times now. I have to admit I don't get the message.
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 22
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

[I'm looking forward to it.
Best regards
Jantje
Attached is a tarball of a small project that calls an assembler routine to generate a couple of pulses on port A PINS  every 6uS.
PeterO


* DelayLineTest2.tgz (19.16 KB - downloaded 13 times.)
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,

ok,

here is the the following.
I've deinstalled the plugin V2 version and installed the 1.2.5.5 Version. All worked fine, i made the settings and then I tried to create a new project - after the entry of the Arduino informations and clicking create I received the following error message.



* eclpuginfmproject.jpg (15.65 KB, 441x136 - viewed 34 times.)
« Last Edit: August 19, 2013, 06:03:33 pm by rainers » Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

please provide an image of the eclipse application and if possible the stack trace
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,

I don't know what's going  on but I've deinstalled and installed your plugin several times and now it works.  Only the Arduino.h error appears and the second Error make: ***[xxxx.o]Error1

Made a new project and no errors at the moment.

Ty for your assitance.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2013, 11:07:39 am by rainers » Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Jantje - yes, I saw that reply.  However, it didn't immediately make sense to me.  Under the Eclipse AVR I could create a static library that was linked with my executable.  In your version all the source code is compiled into a single executable.  Even though some of the code might be reused in the form of a "library", it is a compile-time action, not a link-time action.  Not really what I'm used to, or what I was looking for, but it serves the purpose of decoupling "libraries" from "applications".

As an aside, upload to Leonardo is not working properly for me.  The plugin resets the board but never re-aquires the com port.  If I manually reset the board after the first error message the upload completes properly.  If you point me to the source code for the new plugin I'll be happy to look into a solution (unless you already have one).

Thanks for the great plugin!

-Tom
Tom
Nothing stops you from creating a static library project in eclipse and link it with your project. This is the eclipse way of working and this was how version 1 of my plugin was working.
The drawback is that you will have to set all compile variables yourself and that you are not able to share compile settings with your main project.
The second reason is why the new plugin only has 1 eclipse project per sketch. Teensy and Arduino IDE 1.5.X need this functionality.

The problem you report on leonardo has been reported to me before. It works on my Windows system and I can not get leonardo to work on my linux system. Feel free to find and fix the problem  smiley-grin
As to the source code. I had a problem uploading to github. neuweiler also wanted a look at the code. I have send him my latest version and he uploaded it to a github fork and then I pulled it in. In short: the latest and greatest is at github. https://github.com/jantje/arduino-eclipse-plugin
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1920
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

important note on 1.5.3 beta
Given the changes the arduino team did, the plugin is currently not compatible. Please use 1.5.2 beta for now.
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22] 23 24 ... 32   Go Up
Jump to: