Pages: 1 ... 25 26 [27] 28 29 ... 32   Go Down
Author Topic: Windows/Linux/Mac Eclipse plugin to compile and upload arduino sketches  (Read 111017 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 37
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
A new version of the plugin is coming and some testers are needed.

For which eclipse version ? Juno , Kepler ?
For which Arduino IDE version ?
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
A new version of the plugin is coming and some testers are needed.

For which eclipse version ? Juno , Kepler ?
For which Arduino IDE version ?

The plugin version is planned to work with juno and kepler.
The product version is planned to be kepler.
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 37
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If testing in the last 2 weeks of this year is timely enough, I'm willing to step forward.
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm still working on a issue and waiting for some more volunteers. https://github.com/jantje/arduino-eclipse-plugin/issues/108
I hope to get the first test version out end of this week.
If you want to get your hands on the latest version feel free to take a look at the new product that you can download from the nightly build http://eclipse.baeyens.it/download.php don't forget to set the arduino or C/C++ perspective.
Apart from a nicer start this will be the first test version.
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@nico @RbSCR
Please send a mail to eclipse@baeyens.it so I can add you to the mailing list.
@kate
I still have your email adress.

I'm in the process of the paperwork for this release. So it should be soon now.

Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Tasmania - Australia
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 16
Posts: 322
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Jantje, Gelukkig Nieuwjaar,

I'm enjoying the latest beta release on both OSX and Linux, and have a question I would like to ask.
I have a need to be able to program a Mega based board using an ISP, a Freetronics EtherMega.
The board has a non functional USB cpu section, but the 2560 side is good.

I read in the git requests that you mentioned that it will not be available, but is there the possibility of doing this?
____
Paul
Logged


Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Paul
Happy new-year to you to :-)
I read in the git requests that you mentioned that it will not be available, but is there the possibility of doing this?
I indeed don't plan to add the multitude of possibilities to upload as the Arduino IDE does. If anyone else wants to do this I won't stop him/her.
Does that mean you can't do it?  ..... No.
The plugin contains a "generic uploader" That one allows to run a number of commands in sequential order. So if you know the commands tat need to be run you can modify platform.txt or boards.txt to execute these commands when uploading instead of the "normal" commands.
For instance for the Teensy I have the following in the platform.txt:
Code:
tools.teensy_reboot.upload.params.verbose=
tools.teensy_reboot.upload.params.quiet=
tools.teensy_reboot.cmd.path={tools.teensy_reboot.config.path}/
tools.teensy_reboot.name=Teensy upload
tools.teensy_reboot.step1.pattern={tools.teensy_reboot.cmd.path}teensy_post_compile -path={build.path} -file={build.project_name} -tools={tools.teensy_reboot.config.path} -board={name}
tools.teensy_reboot.step1.name=Teensy post compile
tools.teensy_reboot.step2.pattern={tools.teensy_reboot.cmd.path}teensy_reboot -v
tools.teensy_reboot.step2.name=Teensy reboot
Because of practical issues all the {xx} are translated to ${A.XX} in the environment variables.

The drawback of doing this in the platform.txt is that it will do the change for all the boards. You can also do the change in boards.txt. The plugin processes the platform.txt and then boards.txt. Therefore you can overwrite all platform.txt settings with board specific ones in boards.txt (I don't know whether the Arduino IDE works in the same way)
As you say it is for a mega2560 the above commands would become
Code:
mega2560.tools.teensy_reboot.upload.params.verbose=
mega2560.tools.teensy_reboot.upload.params.quiet=
mega2560.tools.teensy_reboot.cmd.path={tools.teensy_reboot.config.path}/
mega2560.tools.teensy_reboot.name=Teensy upload
mega2560.tools.teensy_reboot.step1.pattern={tools.teensy_reboot.cmd.path}teensy_post_compile -path={build.path} -file={build.project_name} -tools={tools.teensy_reboot.config.path} -board={name}
mega2560.tools.teensy_reboot.step1.name=Teensy post compile
mega2560.tools.teensy_reboot.step2.pattern={tools.teensy_reboot.cmd.path}teensy_reboot -v
mega2560.tools.teensy_reboot.step2.name=Teensy reboot
Personally I would copy the whole mega2560 and change the id to EtherMega. This way you can modify all the settings and have the upload as you want it.

If you made a change to the boards.txt or platform.txt select apply in the project/arduino properties to have the plugin use the new settings.

If it takes you longer than half an hour to get it going you are probably not taking the easiest route  smiley-grin

Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 7
Posts: 293
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've written some installation instructions for the newest version 2.2 and the new Arduino Eclipse IDE :

http://trippylighting.com/teensy-arduino-ect/arduino-eclipse-plugin/arduino-eclipse-ide-and-plugin-v2-2-installation/

Particularly useful if you work on a mac and also want to program Teensy 3x boards! I've also installed the new Arduino Eclipse  IDE on Windows 7 and Ubuntu Linux, and find that the instructions should work for these as well.
Logged


Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've written some installation instructions for the newest version 2.2 and the new Arduino Eclipse IDE :

http://trippylighting.com/teensy-arduino-ect/arduino-eclipse-plugin/arduino-eclipse-ide-and-plugin-v2-2-installation/

Particularly useful if you work on a mac and also want to program Teensy 3x boards! I've also installed the new Arduino Eclipse  IDE on Windows 7 and Ubuntu Linux, and find that the instructions should work for these as well.
Thanks :-)
I'll make a link from my website
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 8
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've updated the teensy3.0 and teensy 3.1 sections of the boards.txt for Tennsy from Teensyduino 1.18rc2 (installed using Headroom's instructions above)

This should work teensy 3.1 now (and added in partial Turkish support) as long as you add teensduino libraries as in Headroom's instructions above.

Please look over and point out any obvious errors. I haven't touched the teensy1,1++2,2++ sections as I don't have those boards to test with, but it does work with teensy 3 & teensy 3.1



* boards.txt (28.72 KB - downloaded 52 times.)
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

kate
Great :-)

@all
Maybe it is a good idea to add a Teensy dedicated part to my website and put the files there. The website is uploaded from github That means anyone can create a pull request.
Tell me what you think.

Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

V2.2 has been released officialy now.
There is plenty of new stuff.
For the non eclipse guru's amongst us: please read the install advice http://eclipse.baeyens.it/installAdvice.shtml
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Jentje,

    I look forward to getting Eclipse Arduino IDE working, but for now I'm having problems.  I'm running on Ubuntu 12.04.  None of the instructions I've found are specific to linux.  I'm not now nor have I ever been a Apple user so at key points in the instructions I don't think I was able to follow and to translate to linux.  And,

   FYI, earlier this week I installed Arduino 1.05 and teensyduino.   I was able to build, download, and run on Teensy 3.1.

   I've read and followed both yours and Headroom's instructions.  First I followed your instructions from http://www.baeyens.it/eclipse/Install.shtml

   I installed Juno Eclipse (FYI I have had other same or other versions installed).  I downloaded and installed Arduino 1.5.5 after reading your installAdvice page.  I interpreted your note about "needs fix" as applying to Kepler and NOT juno.  Apparently bad assumption and the page is confusing.

    The first time I installed V2.2 plugin during the "install new software" steps there was one choice and I installed it.  I went to Preferences::Arduino and tried to specify my Arduino 1.5.5. path but when I entered Apply it said invalid field.  The dialog from the unix version is different from what was in the instructions. 

   After not being able to resolve this, I went back and read more and found Headroom's instructions.  I followed these instructions but this time trying to install Eclipse Arduino IDE.  When I  "install New Software" and used provided link (same as yours) I was given 3 version that could be installed.  I chose the one Headroom suggested in the instructions, but Eclipse said there was a newer version installed.  I found a way to uinstalled the 2.2.0.1 that had installed.  But still eclipse would not allow me to install the one suggested.  In fact, none of them would install. 

It would seem there's a conflict I've created and I need to clean things up.   I use TI's Code Composure Studio, which is Eclipse based and I'd like to avoid breaking it.

Do you have any suggestions how to proceed?   

Also, it appears that since I've chosen to try and install Arduino 1.5.5 the sources have to be modified per your InstallAdvice page.  You provided a script that I cut/pasted into a file and made executable.  The instructions are for MAC and are unclear where to run the script on linux.

Please help.  Thank



Logged

Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 7
Posts: 293
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@timbopoise

The Arduino Eclipse IDE bundles Eclipse Kepler and the plugin V2.2. No separate installation of the plugin is needed!
The only other software you have to install is Arduino IDE 1.5.2, or Arduino IDE 1.5.5 (NOT 1.5.4)

So, go ahead and compile and upload something ;-)
Logged


Belgium
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 68
Posts: 1926
Arduino rocks; but with my plugin it can fly rocking the world ;-)
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm looking for a volunteer to test assembly in the plugin V2 (latest build).
The volunteer should have assembly knowledge (at least at the command line level) and do testing.
Please react on the github issue https://github.com/jantje/arduino-eclipse-plugin/issues/121
Best regards
Jantje
Logged

Do not PM me a question unless you are prepared to pay for consultancy.
Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -

Pages: 1 ... 25 26 [27] 28 29 ... 32   Go Up
Jump to: