Some experience required

Hi,

I just got my arduino, learning slowly, mind is being blasted by the possibilities that electronics have. Anyway, I've thought of something that would be neat to build, but no idea whether its doable (or practical.) please advise.

I was imagining combining an RGB LED (pref surface mount) with some sort of wifi antenna and battery and whatever else i'm not anticipating but will need to make this work into as small as package as possible (say 1"x1"x1/2") to make little lights that can be controlled wirelessly. I was hoping i could then have a bunch of these little things kicking around, and i could send commands to them wirelessly. things like color, variation rate, and whatever other effects could then be controlled from an arduino hooked up to an old wireless router (?) for fun lighting effects without wires everywhere.

Is this possible?

I'm still an electronics rookie so bear with me, is this even possible or am i missing some fundamentals?

Thank you for any insight.

Sure.
Take a look at a little board like a ProMini, or my Mini-uino board,
, assembly required

connect it to an RF receiver, some examples here
http://www.robotshop.com/general-rf-data-telemetry.html?p=1-20
and a LiIon or LiPo battery and your RGB LED & 3 resistors.
Then work out an address/data protocol they will all listen to, to know when to change something.

Skyle, presumably you've heard the phrase "The sky is the limit." ? Well, in this case, your creativity is the limit. Pretty much anything you can think of, can, in some way or another, be made ... maybe not necessarily with Arduinos, but it can with electronics. :slight_smile: Welcome to the wonderful world of Arduino though.

As for your idea, on paper it's fairly easy. You need to break it down into it's respected pieces though:

First, you want an RGB LED to be stand-alone : easy, wire it up to a small LiPo battery (rechargeable at that!)