Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6   Go Down
Author Topic: NRL Satellite (ARDUINO IN SAPCE!)  (Read 11210 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
South Africa
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 141
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The OSSI seems like a cool idea, getting a satellite into sapce  ;D is a costly task.

I see its based on cubesat which seems to be some kind of reference design for making your own satellite.
Logged

South African Arduino User Group

http://arduino.za.net

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 71
Simple Solution Technologies
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

<offtoipc>
http://www.space-track.org/icons/spacetrack_logo3.jpg

That was clearly made in gimp.
</offtoipc>

Hmm, I don't think it is worth doing a DIY rotor.
I guess if it is for smaller lighter antenna it is possible.
Otherwise I would stick to the commercial one for now

http://eludium.stensat.org.nyud.net/ANDE/Participation.html
Hmm, I am not sure how we are collecting data from people
They might have an intern working on it.
I think a web API attached to a DB would be great.
Ill talk to my mentor about that today too...
Logged

Cornwall UK
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 68
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

STS-127

http://www.n2yo.com/?s=35633
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 71
Simple Solution Technologies
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


BIG NEWS!
Pollux and Castor are LAUNCHED!

So far we have determined all MEMS payloads are operational on Pollux!
Some people claim to hear Castor but we have yet to get telemetry data from it.

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
NASSP Developer
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So you're the guy who I heard about from Ivan. The g-1000 is def better then that relay one we made back in high school. Would have been better if the transistors actually worked and didn't need us to create a seperate board with relays. You should have seen the inside of it. The wires made it look like a purple and green plant instead of being a cool board. Ugh.  

 I'm really impressed by your work.  Made programming the ground station easier.

Kinda late but thanks for showing us arduino. It made life a lot easier and less stressful finding how to get stuff working without some fancy code.

I'm really hoping we can decode castor soon. Spent a lot of time testing it xD
« Last Edit: July 30, 2009, 10:14:58 pm by bluespace88 » Logged


0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 71
Simple Solution Technologies
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Oh! So that was the old board I Saw! I though it was made by the students at the academy.
I Saw this big board with big relays and purple and green wires. It was falling apart.
It made me feel sad when I saw it :'( . That bored was my inspiration to make a better one.  ;D
Thanks!

Do you know who worked on the radio.c program? I made some improvements to the code, including using getopt and separate files to make it more readable. I am thinking about writing a library to use the G-1000 for customers.

I am glad that I was able to help out!
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
NASSP Developer
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

That would be me. All I really did was read and display the g-1000 data. I was actually surprised I got it working At all because I never worked with programs that communicate via the serial port. Lots of googlng to make it work

I mean I can obviously parse the data from the g-1000 to make it more readable but i never saw the need seeing as all it does is display the antenna position and the radio server program already shows you what sat and frequency you are using. What kind of improvements were you thinking of?

The only thing I liked about the relay board was that it could dock. It was so hard soldering all those connections to the ports and then having something come lose so it's not surprising that it's falling apart.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2009, 04:48:58 am by bluespace88 » Logged


0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 71
Simple Solution Technologies
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well for starters...You where working with old g-1000 code smiley
I fixed bugs on both sides of the codes, Bugs found in serial communication.
Also being able to specify both devices.
Ill post the code up here along with the new g-1000 code.
I still need to add a timeout for calibration.
I made functions for each command.

Well, I think what I was going for was an inline board, If I want to I could make a full inline board but it just not as cost effective.
Next is an Ethernet version I hope, going to be quite a challenge.


ALSO: Endeavour is back home! Thanks a lot guys, glad you are back safely!
« Last Edit: July 31, 2009, 10:33:36 am by Shutter » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
NASSP Developer
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yeah, it was a pain getting them to communicate sometimes, but it worked for the most part.  And its true, I haven't seen any new g-1000 code since winter when I first started working on the g-1000 interface.

Speaking of calibration, isn't there anyway to save calibration data, probably on the ground station computer and load it up instead of calibrating each time radio.c is run?   I know Ivan was bothered by that, which led to the creation of radioserver.c to change satellites and frequency.  I originally was going to do it in radio.c, but since I wasn't using the regular terminal i/o and had a delay, keystrokes ended up being delayed.


Logged


0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 71
Simple Solution Technologies
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes, that code was written long ago. Go pester Ivan for it. I gave it to him.
It saves the structure in the EEPROM.
I never planed for calibration not to be saved! That would be ridiculous!
Thanks to bohne who pointed this out.
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1236996885#5
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
NASSP Developer
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ugh, and he never gave it when I wrote the helper program back in June.  And he was the one who asked me about the calibration stuff too.  

Well, that would solve that major problem of shutting the program and then having to recalibrate everytime when we run it.  The only other problem is the keystroke delay in radio.c, but I never attempted to fix it because it still works smiley-lol
Logged


0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 71
Simple Solution Technologies
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ah yea, the code I wrote eliminates the need for typing :3
Everything is passed as an argument when starting.

I swear I will post both codes this week.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
NASSP Developer
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well, the only typing commands I would have is to change satellite/frequency, though thats not a G-1000 thing, and probably a recalibration button just in case, since I don't know if it loses accuracy over time or not.

What happens now, and I don't know if Ivan told you or not, is that you would start predict, start the radio server, type in the satellite info, start radio, and then let it go.  The only parameters are for radio.c and that is to define the usb port being used for the G-1000, since linux sometimes likes to change usb numbers.  

Also, small nitpick, but on your next G-1000 board, can you make the led's a different color that doesn't blind the eyes?  Its kinda bright right now that we had to hide it.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2009, 11:03:20 am by bluespace88 » Logged


0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 31
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Do you have the numbers for a free satellite tracking program ? Which do you recommend ? I am N8TV
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 71
Simple Solution Technologies
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes, the LEDs are extremely bright, on the new board there is only one LED, that's a power/ready indicator. There is no reason for anymore LEDs. Ill make sure to order some dimmer ones.

uphiearl:
 For tracking software there are are plenty.
Predict is a popular one.
There is also
Gpredict
PreviSat
JSatTrack
JOSAST
Well... here

I prefer Gpredict and Predict.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2009, 09:38:24 pm by Shutter » Logged

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6   Go Up
Jump to: