Go Down

Topic: High range temperature sensor (Read 708 times) previous topic - next topic

whites11

Hi all,

i have to monitor a fridge temperature which has to be around -80°C but cannot find a (possibily wireless) sensor that supports such a low temperature.
do you know of any?

thanks in advance,

Christian

johnwasser

All the chip temperature sensors I know of seem to have a bottom end of -55°C.  I think you may have to use a thermocouple.
Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

whites11

thanks for the answer.
termocouples sounds ok, but can you give me some directions for learning how to use them? i'm a newbie :)

thanks a lot

robtillaart

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

whites11

don't you like frozen beers? :)

biological stuff at the university, mainly cell coltures ;)

thanks a lot for the links

pwillard

ryanjmclaughlin.com/wiki/Single_Thermocouple_Interface

whites11

ok, thanks to your links all is a bit clear to me now.
anyway, i'm wondering if it's possible to use some kind of wireless thermocouples, because it' difficult to have a cable coming out of a -80C freezer.

i think that xbee should be the way to go, but maybe you know something better. of course, the transmitter has to stay at -80C, so electronic part has to be as simple as possible i guess.

ideas?

robtillaart

i'm wondering if it's possible to use some kind of wireless thermocouples, because it' difficult to have a cable coming out of a -80C freezer.

First check if wifi or GSM or whatever wireless protocoll you have in mind work in the freezer.

idea: If there is electric light in the freezer you might use some signal over powerline technique.?

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

GoForSmoke