Go Down

Topic: Dog Personality Extender (GPS + Wave Shield Questions) (Read 564 times) previous topic - next topic

Rolento

I'm nearing the end of the semester for my Sensor Based Art class for graduate studies using primarily Arduino equipment, breadboards, etc. so I'm fairly new to doing this, but have had recent experience.

I am focusing on building a vest for my dog to wear that will log GPS cooardinates, and based off if the dog has been in an area before (ie. back at a location already logged within the GPS data log), will speak "I've been here" or "I haven't been here".

I am currently trying to use a GPS Shield on one Arduino Duemilanove and a Wave Sheild on another Arduino Duemilanove.

I am not good at writing programs, but know how it works when I look at a functioning piece of code.

Here's a not so great way of how I want it to work

GPS Arduino

When Dog is Somewhere
{
   If ( dog is in same general area as a previous data log then ) {
     Output True or HIGH
     }
   Else {
     Output False or LOW
     Log Location
     }
}

Wave Arduino

If (True Signal from GPS Arduino ) {
     Play "I've been Here" wav
     }
If (False Signal from GPS Arduino ) {
     Play "I have not been Here" wav
     }

thats the general way I want it to work or think it would work easiest. I am primarily confused what code would work to log, then check the log. Sending a High or Low signal is pretty simple, the rest (primarily all the GPS stuff) is semi confusing.

note: I'm using two Arduinos due to noted conflicts between the libraries of the GPS and Wave Shields.

PaulS

There a number of questions that you didn't answer. For instance, where are you recording where the GPS has been? How are the two Arduinos communicating? What is the criteria for "I've been here before"? The exact same lat/lon value, or some threshold? How big? 10 feet? 10 miles?

Do you know how to read data from the GPS? How is it connected to the Arduino? Which pins does it use?