Go Down

Topic: Proto Shield General Use Button (Read 134 times) previous topic - next topic

StellarJay

So I am quite new to this whole electronics building thing, I am however quite a proficient programmer. I'm working on a project that involves addressable LED light strips being controlled by an Arduino UNO R3 with effects that take the input of an Accelerometer and output to the LED strips. I am using this Proto Shield (DFROBOT Proto Shield) and I plan to make use of the general use button on there to cycle through the effect cases? My question is do I need to incorporate a pull-up resistor to that button or do I simply wire the one wire from the switch to a digital pin to be read for HIGH or LOW and change the effect based on that?

Wawa

One side of the button seems to be connected to ground, the other one to pin 11.
Don't see a pull up resistor on that board (see schematic diagram on that page).

Easiest way is to enable the internal pull up resistor in pinMode.

pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT_PULLUP);

Leo..

StellarJay

Do I even need a pull-up resistor if I'm only using the switch to cycle through the various effects in the program? Can I just do a DigitalRead on Pin 11? Sorry for being new< I know how to write programs, the physical electronics is my weakness.

groundfungus

Jul 04, 2016, 02:00 am Last Edit: Jul 04, 2016, 02:02 am by groundfungus
An unconnectd input is said to be "floating".  A floating input is suseptable to noise.  The way to make the input immune to the noise is to make sure that it is always HIGH or LOW (never open).  A pullup resistor keeps the input HIGH until the botton switch is closed, then the input is pulled LOW.  So the input is never in between (open).

Wawa

Jul 04, 2016, 02:14 am Last Edit: Jul 04, 2016, 02:27 am by Wawa
Yes, you do need a pull up resistor.
Without it, the pin will be "floating" if the button isn't pushed.